Pandora’s Box

yeah write top three #217

 

pandoras-box1-300x240

 

Pandora was the young girl’s name,

For mankind’s ills she’s been to blame.

Unleashing evil is the claim.

It’s such a shame, it’s such a shame.

 

The box she had to see inside,

And when unlocked, it opened wide.

Then all the evil flew outside.

And then she cried, and then she cried.

 

Her fellow man she had betrayed,

With all the evils now displayed.

She knew an error grave she’d made.

She was afraid, she was afraid.

 

Pandora was in such despair.

Her grief was quite a lot to bear.

She looked once more and breathed a prayer,

For Hope was there, for Hope was there.

 

 

 

 

 

7 comments

  • Pingback: Share Your World – 2015 Week #24 | A Slice of Life

  • I really liked this poem, especially the ending line. Good thing Hope was there, otherwise Pandora might really have problems. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Michael! Thanks so much for your kind comments; I really appreciate it. I’ve always loved this story, and I’m so glad you like my poem. I hope you have a wonderful day! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  • Thanks, Christine. I guess it does sound like a song, doesn’t it? I’m sure you probably know it’s written in monotetra form, which is a form of poetry that I just fell in love with a couple years ago. I was always intrigued by the story of Pandora, and she seemed the perfect subject for a poem. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have a great rest of the week! 🙂

    Like

  • Imagine being to blame for all of the world’s problems. I think it’s because of opening that jar that no one remembers she was Eve in Greek mythology. As Christine said, your rhyme and meter are perfect. Good work!

    Like

    • Thanks, Nate; I always appreciate your comments. And shame on me – I didn’t realize that she was Eve in Greek mythology, but I’m not surprised that you do. I hope you have an amazing week!

      Like

  • This sounds almost like a folk song – like something sung on a dark winter’s day. Or maybe a children’s circle game. Your iambic tetrameter is flawless!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

