Share Your World – Week #22

Finish these four sentences. You can talk about yourself or be creative and write a piece of fiction. It’s up to you. Have some fun.

Complete this sentence: Never in my life have I…. Ever been unfaithful to my husband. As a matter of fact, the thought of infidelity has never even crossed my mind. Have I ever looked at another man and thought he was handsome? Sure. I’m only human, after all! But even when we were just dating, I never cheated on him by going out with another guy. I never had to because he is everything that I need and want, and I love him more with each day that passes. I know that I’m the luckiest woman in the world.

Complete this sentence:  My neighbor wants me to help her….. Rob a bank. She has it all planned out – right down to the minute. She says that all I have to do is sit in the get-away car and keep the motor running. And she and her husband will do the rest. I never did like her husband. He’s kind of a jerk, if you ask me. He claims he can’t work because of a bad back, but I’ve seen him do plenty of heavy lifting in his back yard. After they rob the bank they’re going to hop on a plane bound for South America and start a new life, leaving their three kids behind. Of course they’re all grown up now and living in different parts of the country, but I just can’t imagine leaving my family behind forever, can you? They claim that they’re going to give me 25% of the take, but I’m not going to do it. I don’t think I’m prison material.

Complete this sentence:  When I was little I wanted… To be a ballerina. I got the idea of becoming a ballerina after watching The Swan Lake Ballet on television. I thought the ballerinas were so beautiful and the way they danced so graceful. I loved how they leaped through the air and especially how they turned round and round. I also admired the costumes they wore. My parents couldn’t afford to send me to dance class, so instead, I went to the library and borrowed a book on ballet. I thought it showed everything I needed to know to dance ballet: first through fifth position of the feet and arms, plie, releve, saute, arabesque, and pirouette. And so I practiced day and night, thinking that I would become the greatest ballerina ever. I even wore my fanciest slip, pretending it was my tutu. And eventually, as all little girls’ dreams eventually do, my ballerina dream was replaced by a new dream. It wasn’t long before I wanted to become a circus performer . . . 

Complete this sentence:  Will you come here to… Clean out my sewing room? I have been meaning to clean out my sewing room for the past three years, but somehow I keep putting it off. I know – terrible, right? I keep thinking of the old adage: Never put off until tomorrow what you can do today. My sewing room used to be a beautiful room, in perfect condition, and everything was in the exact place that it should be. Then one summer our future son-in-law (who is now married to our oldest daughter) needed a place to stay and my sewing room was the perfect place for him to sleep. Everything had to be moved over towards the window in order to make room for the mattress for him to sleep on. After the summer, somehow things just kept getting “thrown” into that room and now it has been turned into a junk room. I’d really like to get it back into order again so that I can start sewing quilts again, a hobby which I really enjoy. I guess I just have to buckle down and get to it. Unless, of course, YOU’D like to come over and help me clean it out? I’ll make you a wonderful cup of tea and we can spend some time getting to know each other. I think it would be a lovely day, don’t you? And you know what they say: “Many hands make light work.” 

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful that last week I was able to attend the 60th birthday party for a childhood friend, Mike. I’ve known him for 40 years. My husband is best friends with him and spends every Saturday with him at the gym. As a matter of fact, his wife Laurie was my very first friend ever. I met her at the age of 5. If you like, you can read about her in this story: A Friend for Life. Mike and Laurie both grew up in the same neighborhood as I did, and they had the same circle of friends as I did and they also kept in touch with them through the years. Because of this, all the old gang were there at his party. I can’t tell you how great it was to see everybody. Some of them I haven’t seen for years. As a matter of fact, one of my very first boyfriends was in attendance and I haven’t seen him for 40 years. Laurie brought me over to greet him because I didn’t even recognize him when I came in. When she reintroduced me to him, he even hugged me, saying, “Oh my gosh, Cindy! It’s so nice to see you again!” And then he introduced me to his wife, whose name was also Cindy, which I thought was really cool! He said: “Cindy, this is Cindy Devine (my maiden name, which he even remembered after all these years) She was my first (which he also remembered) girlfriend. As a matter of fact, it’s because of us being together a long time ago that Mike and Laurie eventually got married.” I can’t tell you how thrilled I was that he remembered all this. Then I told him how another old friend had recognized me after not seeing me for forty years and he said: “I’m sure it must be because you’re still so beautiful after all these years.” And wow – did that ever make me feel good! I think my husband was even a little jealous at that point! Anyway, I had so much fun reminiscing with all my old friends and the night just flew by. I was rather sad when it was time to leave the party, but so happy that I’d been able to spend time with everyone.

I’m happy to say that I’m finally feeling better. It’s been a tough couple of weeks, but thank goodness, they’re over. So now I can get back to my regular activities, and that includes pickleball! I joined the Shoreview Area Pickleball Club which meets Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings, and I’m really looking forward to getting back into that activity. My husband Mike also joined the club, so now this is something that we can do together. We’ve been looking for an activity that we can enjoy together for a long time and finally we’ve found it. Mike is a tennis player, so he’s had no difficulty transitioning from tennis to pickleball. As a matter of fact, he’s very good and I think he’s enjoying it more than he says that he does. I know this is true because yesterday he even ordered a paddle online. Up to that point, he was just using a standard wooden paddle, which is okay, but the one he ordered yesterday is a much better quality paddle and more expensive, and when my husband breaks down and spends more money on something, then you know he’s getting serious! But it is a great activity and the people in our club are so nice and friendly and I’ve made some wonderful friends already. Now if I could just lose some weight, I’d be really happy! I guess I need to get started on that diet I keep talking about right? All in good time . . .

So now you know a little more about me.

I’m glad we had this time together and I’d like to thank you for spending it with me. I’m so pleased that I was able to share a bit about myself and my world with you and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Best,

Cindy's signature with flower and butterfly

 

 

 

 

share your world

 

This post is presented as part of the Share Your World Challenge. If you’d like to be part of this great activity, please click here:

Cee’s Share Your World Challenge

 

 

 

 

 

5 comments

  • A local blogger-friend plays pickleball, too. I’d never heard of it before that, but it’s offered at the city rec centers. Sounds like fun. I’m glad you passed on the offer to rob the bank! LOL You were dedicated to your ballet lessons. I’ll help you with your sewing room if you’ll help me with mine.

    Like

  • Hi Cee! I love being married, too. Mike and I have been together since 1974 and have been married since 1976 – it’s forever for us! 🙂 As far as the bank sentence is concerned – that was a fun exercise, and I really enjoyed it! Great job! 🙂

    Like

  • Cindy I really like your statement on your the first sentence. I don’t even think of straying or cheating on Chris. It just isn’t an option in my mind either. I’m married and love it. Don’t know if the bank is a real or false sentence. But don’t you know that the helpers are oftentimes killed because the robber wants the entire stash to herself. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

