Joy in Suffering

joy 1

As you read the title of this piece, you may be thinking to yourself: How can there be joy in suffering? It is a contradiction in terms. I’d like to tell you that there can be joy in suffering. I know because I have experienced such joy in my life. Please let me explain.

I have been medically disabled from working since 2004. My problems started out small, and then steadily grew in proportion. I was diagnosed with medical conditions, one after another. I have many medical problems but I will not bore you by listing all of them here. Suffice it to say, I suffer every day. I suffer from pain; I suffer from depression; and I suffer from loneliness.

But I do have joy.

How can this be, you may ask? I am most eager to answer this question.

Before I became ill, I was a full-time working nurse, wife, and mother. I didn’t have time for any outside activities of my own. It was all I could do to come home from work each day and at the same time take care of my husband and children. But I was happy. I loved my life.

Then I became ill. Suddenly I was no longer the caretaker; I was the one being cared for. There are days when I’m in so much pain that I can’t even get out of bed. I’m confined for long periods of time to my bed or reclining chair.

I used to feel sorry for myself until one day I realized that I should be rejoicing instead of crying.

I’ve come to understand that God has blessed me with the most loving and understanding husband I could have ever asked for. I realized that when my husband took his wedding vows – the ones which state: “in sickness and in health” – he took those vows very seriously. He has proven it by taking on the roles of nurse, helper, friend, confidante, and lover.

Because I couldn’t work any more, our financial situation was in dire straits. So my hard-working husband took it upon himself to find a second part-time job just to help make ends meet. My dear husband works so hard that sometimes it makes me cry. But he never complains about it. He has never blamed me for it, even though at times I have blamed myself.

My husband also does all of the household chores and again, he does not complain. He does the cooking and the laundry, all without complaint. When our children were still in school, he was the one who attended the parent-teacher conferences. He was the one who drove our children to whatever practices or activities they were involved in for the day. He took my place at all the necessary social functions which I could not attend. He has done all these things, besides making sure that I have everything I need – sometimes giving those things to me before I even realized that I needed them myself.

Yes, my husband has brought me so much joy!

Our children have also been the bearers of joy for me. When I could not attend their school functions, they understood and never once did they complain about me not going. They only reassured me that it was all right, that they understood, and that they loved me. My children helped more around the house – doing things that I could no longer do. They have shown me nothing but love and understanding.

Yes, my children have brought me so much joy!

Since I’ve been ill, I’ve received so many telephone calls from my sisters and friends who check up on me, making sure that I’m okay, asking me what my needs are, and volunteering to fulfill those needs. Often times they’ll visit and spend time with me, just because they want to cheer me.

Yes, my sisters and friends have brought me so much joy!

Shortly after I became ill and was homebound, my husband thought it might be a good idea if I had a pet to keep me company during the day while I was alone so he bought me a little toy poodle. Her name is Lucy and she is my ever-faithful companion. She helped me through those long, lonely days and I believe she even helps to make me feel better. She always manages to put a smile on my face even when I am feeling low.

Yes, my little dog Lucy has brought me so much joy!

Because I have lots of time on my hands, I have been able to do some things that I never had time for when I was working. One of those things is writing. My illness has caused me to remember how much enjoyment I used to derive from writing. I’ve also discovered that writing is a wonderful form of therapy because it helps when I write down my thoughts, my fears, my hopes, my dreams, and my memories.

Yes, writing has brought me so much joy!

I have also discovered that when I’m in severe pain, if I pray and speak with my Lord, then my pain is lessened. I have come to know my God better than I have ever known Him before. To be with our Heavenly Father in prayer is a blessing.

Yes, God has brought me so much joy!

As a matter of fact, I have more joy in my life now than I ever did before.

So you see, there can be joy in suffering! You just have to know where to look for it, be grateful that you found it, appreciate it once you have it, and never, ever let it go.

 

 

 

 

10 comments

  • Illness and disability bring a physical stillness to people. Some, like you, use your stillness to look for silver linings. You are inspiring.

    Like

    • Aw . . . that is so sweet of you, but actually, I am inspired by those around me. They are the ones who deserve all the credit – I am merely lucky to be loved by them, that’s all. Thanks so much for stopping by today. I hope you have an amazing day! 🙂

      Like

  • It’s amazing how sometimes we don’t see our blessings for what they are until something drastic happens. You’re one of the lucky ones to have such loving family and friends.

    Like

  • Just reading about all the things that bring joy in your life makes my heart burst with joy too! If there’s one thing that I’m learning in life it’s that no matter how hard and dark things get, there are always things to be thankful for and that nothing lasts forever. There’s something good just around the corner. It’s amazing to see how God uses hard, painful things in our lives to bring about something even better!

    Like

  • It’s the silver linings that we need to look for amid the dark clouds. What may seem to be a bad thing isn’t necessarily so when we can get out of our tunnel vision. There really is joy in suffering.

    Like

    • Hi Sanch. Yes, it is so true what you say about tunnel vision and looking for the silver linings. I’m glad that you were able to get that out of my story. It was so easy for me to find joy once I knew where to look for it. Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you have an amazing day! 🙂

      Like

  • Your post here brought me in tears. You are so wise to look at it the way you do. I really would like the blessing of the Lord to heal you

    Like

    • Aw . . . that’s so nice; I’m glad you enjoyed my story – it came from my heart, so I’m glad that it moved you because that’s what it was meant to do. And bless you for for your kindness. I hope you have an awesome day! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

