A Thief in the Night

I’ve discovered that the older I’ve become, the more vulnerable I’ve become to the monster who creeps in the night and tries at all costs to rob me of one of my most valuable and precious commodities – sleep. I’ve come to call this monster “The Sleep Thief.” You may know it as “insomnia.” This is a truly horrible experience that I would not wish even on my worst enemy.insomnia2

Is the image on the right familiar to you?  If the answer is yes, then you, too, are familiar with this selfish monster, and the chances are very good that it has also robbed you of precious hours of sleep.

This awful creature held me hostage last night, and the same old tired (pardon the pun) story played itself out again. I was so upset that I even resented my poor husband, who was resting so peacefully on his side of the bed, deep in the throes of his own pleasant dreams. To tell you the truth, what I really wanted to do was hit him with my pillow so that he would wake up – after all, misery loves company!

But no matter how much I pleaded, I could not coax Mr. Sandman to sprinkle his magic sleeping dust over me so that I could obtain the blessed relief of slumber. I tried counting sheep, but even that did not help.

counting-sheepI found myself watching the clock as each second of every single minute of all the hours ticked slowly by.

So I thought I would get up in the hopes that I might fall asleep in front of some late night television program, but to no avail. I tried reading a book – the most boring book I could find – but even that could not lull me into slumber. By this time, I was getting desperate. A glass of warm milk, which normally I despise and under no circumstances would even think of consuming, did nothing to persuade my now-wide awake body to fall into the dearly desired land of dreams.

Then I came up with the brilliant idea of taking a long soak in a warm bubble bath. This always helps to soothe my nerves and makes me sleepy by the time I’m finished. So as I soaked my tired body, there were aromatherapy candles flickering on the vanity, while I listened to my favorite relaxing melodies. After a soothing twenty minutes in the bathtub, the lovely sleepy feeling that I had been yearning for all night long was finally taking its gentle hold upon my body.

I dressed myself in my pajamas and was just about to climb back into bed next to my sleeping husband when our little toy poodle Lucy awakened to go outside for her usual morning routine. And guess who had to take care of her? You guessed it. Yours truly.  And then the alarm went off. It figures.

At least there’s a bright side to my visit from the“thief in the night.” It gave me something to write about in my blog today. Thank God for small favors.

QUOTE FOR TODAY:“Oh sleep! It is a gentle thing, beloved from pole to pole.”Samuel Taylor Coleridge ~

My Best Event

My Best Event

8 comments

  • Insomnia is terrible. I hope you’ve gotten some better sleep the past few nights. Have a wonderful, restful weekend!

    Like

  • As for reading a boring book, “experts say” to read something that’s really intense. A story that holds you enthralled for awhile or a book that takes your full concentration.

    I find this works if I choose something doctrinal like CS Lewis’ explanations of faith. As for stories that hold me enthralled, I can never quit until I find out what happens; by then I’m so emotionally involved that it takes me half an hour to unwind after The End.

    Over the years the thing I’ve found that works best is to recite several long old-fashioned poems. I’ve memorized a number, one of my favorite soothers being Longfellow’s “The Day Is Done” and “Thank God For Home” by Grace Noll Crowell. Reciting various psalms also helps me to relax and fall asleep, or at least enjoy my insomnia a bit more.

    Like

  • Yes, I imagine that would be difficult, and so it puts you in a tight spot! Here’s hoping that you have many nights of peaceful slumber. Have a great day! 🙂

    Like

  • Pingback: To Sleep, Perchance to Dream | My Kaleidoscope

  • that is the worst when morning arrives at the same time that sleep finally can take over!

    Like

  • I don’t want to leave the room when I can’t sleep because eventually my girlfriend can’t sleep when she realizes I’m not in bed. But then I don’t want to stay in and wake her with the lights and sounds of the TV/iPad. It’s a struggle. LOL.

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

