Share Your World – 2015 Week #19

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels?

house 1Our house is a one floor house. As a matter of fact, we’re still living in the very first house we bought, which was thirty-eight years ago, and I’d venture to guess that this will be our only house because I think that the days for changing gears and moving into a different house have passed, and we’re getting up there in age, so why move now? When I was younger, I always thought that I wanted to live in a house which had multiple levels. There was a time when we entertained the notion of moving and there were a couple of houses that I would have liked to move to which did have those multiple levels. But now that we’re senior citizens (Wow! I can’t believe I actually typed that sentence!) I’m glad that our house has only one level because my knees aren’t what they used to be and they do give me trouble going up and down the stairs sometimes. So thank goodness for our foresight and our one level house.

If you have a TV, would you prefer the TV in the living room or another room?tv 1

This Christmas, our wonderful son gave us a big screen television as a gift, which we have mounted on our living room wall. It was a much-appreciated gift because the television we had was over twenty years old, was not even a flat screen TV, and the sound wasn’t working properly. But because we couldn’t afford a new TV, we continued using it. In addition to this, he gave us a home surround system, so now we’re really set up! I was so surprised by this gift, but ever so grateful! My husband does have a smaller set downstairs in his “man-cave,” as my oldest daughter likes to call it, which he uses all the time. We also have a small TV in our bedroom which I think we rarely even turn on.

When you leave a room, do you turn the lights off behind you or keep the lights on throughout your house most of the time? Explain your answer.

turn off lightWhenever I leave a room, I always turn off the lights behind me. I don’t think about it; it is something that I do automatically. Therefore, when we’re at home during the evening, you’ll find that there’s only a light on in the rooms which we occupy at the time. There absolutely is a reason for my compulsion. When I was growing up, my father was very strict about our usage of things like electricity, heat, and water. For instance, in the winter months if we came in from outside and didn’t close the door right away, he’d say: “Close that door. We don’t need to heat up the outside.” He was, of course, referring to letting the warmth from the furnace escape from our house through the open door. And it was the same for the electricity in our house. He was adamant about turning off the lights in a room as soon as you were leaving it, no excuses. And if a light was left on in a room, he would investigate to find out who had been the culprit. So I guess you could say that being energy-efficient was something I had drilled into me.

What’s your favorite room in your home?kitchen 2

My favorite room in my home is the kitchen. I’ve chosen the kitchen not because I love to cook but rather because it always seems to be the central gathering place when our family is together. After all, it’s the place where we share all of our most important family meals and discussions. Before our children grew up and left home, we shared every dinner meal seated around the kitchen table, so I have many happy memories associated with this room. And it’s also the room where we always play games, which we almost always do whenever we get together. So there’s also been a lot of laughter and high-fiving that’s gone on in our kitchen. Yes – I’d definitely say it’s the kitchen.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

OUR APPLE TREE IN BLOOM

OUR APPLE TREE IN BLOOM

I’m grateful that we’ve finally had some rain here in Minnesota. Everything was pretty brown and dry, with fire hazard warnings being posted on a daily basis. But now with the rain that has been finally sent our way, the grass has finally turned green and the apple tree which hangs over our deck has finally blossomed. And our apple tree in bloom is a sight which I look forward to every spring.

I’m also grateful that our youngest daughter Stephanie has just completed her first year at the University of Wisconsin in Madison where she’s pursuing her master’s degree in music performance. I just spoke with her yesterday and she’s so happy that she’s got that first year under her belt. She’s staying most of the summer in Madison, but will be coming home at the end of July for a few weeks, so I’m really looking forward to that.

Next week I’m looking forward to beginning a class which I’m taking online through Coursera called “Marriage and the looking forwardMovies: A History.” It’s a course that studies how marriage has been depicted in the movies, in commercials, and in advertising and its studies begin from the time that movies were first produced. We even get to watch movies with this course. Sounds interesting, right? I can hardly wait. And the best part about this course is that it’s free.

So now you know a little more about me.

I’m glad we had this time together and I’d like to thank you for spending it with me. I’m so pleased that I was able to share a bit about myself and my world with you and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Best,

Cindy's signature with flower and butterfly

 

 

 

 

share your world

 

This post is presented as part of the Share Your World Challenge. If you’d like to be part of this great activity, please click here:

Cee’s Share Your World Challenge

 

10 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

