Three Words You Never Hear Any More

I grew up in a family of seven children, and whenever the telephone rang in our house, you could hear seven voices chime out simultaneously: “I’ll get it!” Following this was always a race to see who could manage to pick up the receiver first and say that special word: “Hello?”

In our house it was a privilege to answer the telephone. We didn’t have cell phones back then. We didn’t have an answering machine, either, so there was no screening of the calls being received. Hard as it is to believe, we actually wanted to know who was on the other end of the line calling us. We never allowed a telephone call to go unanswered. telephone ringing 1But today it seems that the words: “I’ll get it” are three words that you never hear anymore.

With the birth of the answering machine and the ability to screen calls, it is practically unheard of to answer a call without first checking to see who is calling. And how many of us have land lines anymore? Today most of us own cell phones, a modern convenience which allows us to receive our calls anywhere at any time. But in many instances we’re not even talking on our phones because often we prefer texting to talking. Yes, modern technology has certainly changed our attitude towards the telephone. And I wonder: Has it been for the better?

As a matter of fact, I did not own a cell phone until a couple of years ago. I’ve been unable to work for the past eleven years due to medical disabilities which has kept me homebound, and so my husband felt that I didn’t need a cell phone; after all, I had the land line available to me. After an emergency arose, it became apparent that I did need a cell phone, and so finally (as my children so aptly put it) “I stepped into the 21st century.” They pointed out to me that a cell phone was better than a land line because of the texting feature. With texting, I’d be able to communicate faster and easier with people because sometimes it’s “inconvenient” to talk on the phone. At least, this was the way that it was explained to me by them.

But it seems to me that it’s more difficult than ever to get hold of people, even my own children! Well, is it just me or does everyone have this problem? I text, I leave messages, and often I never hear back from the people I call or text. It’s so frustrating not to be able to get hold of other people. And I can’t count the number of times that I’ve been with others who have simply ignored their cell phones when they’ve been ringing, and I think: Aren’t you going to answer that?

I think that the other problem with the cell phone age is texting. I know what you’re going to say because I’ve heard it from my own children. Yes, it is convenient, and yes, it is quick. But what about our communication skills? I’m talking about good old-fashioned talking, one-to-one voice communication. I’m talking about a verbal exchange between two people. There can be problems with texting. Many times you really can’t express all that you need to express in the printed word, such as the tone of your voice or the way you emphasize a certain word. Now I realize that you can place a smiley face or some other emoticon in your text message, but is it really the same as “hearing” the smile in someone’s voice when they’re talking, or listening to them laugh? What about when they’re feeling sad or worried? Can you really express those feelings in a text message? I truly don’t believe that you can.

I know that technology is here to stay, and I’m all for it because we’re supposed to evolve and become better. But maybe we should start thinking about being a bit more considerate of each other when we use it. After all, it’s supposed to help us, not harm us. Maybe we should use a bit of common sense and think about whether it’s better to text or to actually talk on the phone depending on the situation. And I always plead with my children: Please check  your messages and call people back.

And for heaven’s sake, don’t be afraid to say: “I’ll get it.”

 

 

 

 

 

21 comments

  • I still use my land line, it’s so easy.Do you enjoy texting? I enjoyed reading the words, ‘I’ll get it.’

    Liked by 1 person

    • As a matter of fact, I do use texting when the situation calls for it. But I much prefer to talk on the phone. Thanks for stopping by to visit today. I hope you have a great week! 🙂

      Like

  • The main reason I don’t answer unrecognizqble phones is bill collectors & sales people. Sure there’s the “no call lists” but they don’t always work…. And I always return calls for most anything (well anything but sales & collectors ;-)).

    Like

    • Oh yes, I get what you mean about the bill collectors and sales calls. I never answer any calls from numbers that I don’t recognize, either. Those are the calls that I let go to voice mail. And most of the time those calls don’t even leave a message. Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you have a fabulous week! 🙂

      Like

  • I agree with you wholeheartedly. There is nothing better (in my mind) than having a good old fashion chit chat. One of my dearest & best friends ever doesn’t have a cell. We chat several times a week via Facebook IM (with her on her pc & me with my cell), but at least once a week we chat (with the phone pressed to our ears) thoroughly catching up….hearing her voice and listening to her laugh….you just can’t get that with text messages.

    Like

    • You are so right about the text messages; there’s nothing like a good old-fashioned chat, that’s for sure! As for myself, I prefer to use the speaker phone because my ear goes numb! 🙂 Have a great day! 🙂

      Like

  • Nostalgic memories of past!!!
    You are right, we have made advancement in technologies but the love and intimation between human relationships have been lost!

    Like

    • Hi Naturelover! You are so right! I too think that the advances in technology may have caused the love and intimacy in our human relationships to become somewhat lost. I also believe that it’s up to us to find them and take them back again. What do you think? Good question, right? Thanks for visiting today. I hope you have a fantastic week! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  • Yes everyone is busy these days… And people dont want to really talk on the phone until it is really important.

    I agree with an above comment… its a matter of perspective…

    Great Post.. Cheers.

    Ramya
    meotherwise.com

    Like

    • Yes, that’s exactly what my husband said when he read my post – lots of people don’t want to talk on the phone unless it’s important. I don’t know – I think that’s a sign of the times – what do you think? But I agree that perhaps it is a matter of perspective. And thanks for the kind comment. Have a wonderful day! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  • Sadly, I still have phone burnout from being chained to one at work for years. I tend to text these days, but if someone calls, I answer. I just don’t usually initiate them.

    Like

    • Hi Patti! I can understand what you mean by phone burnout; I think my sister is a victim of that, too. But I think it’s great that you answer when someone calls. Thanks for stopping by today. I hope your week is awesome! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  • shadowprancer

    I had a flip phone for the longest time, but a couple of years back I finally got a smartphone. I can say it’s so nice to have; for navigation, for internet, etc. But I don’t use it for talking or texting very much, I prefer the real thing. I hate talking on the phone. Not only is so much information lost in texting, but we lose body language and facial expressions, etc. We lose the intimacy of being face-to-face with someone; real human connection. Unfortunately, a lot of my conversations have been shifted on the phone because I moved cross country, I miss sitting and talking to old friends and family.

    Thank you for the share!

    Like

    • It’s so true what you say about body language and facial expressions – it’s so much better to have these conversations face to face. But if you can’t have them face to face, then I guess talking on the telephone is the next best thing, and that is so much better than just texting, and that’s what I’m talking about. But I totally agree with you. I hope you have a fabulous week! 🙂

      Like

  • We were five kids in our house. I remember, “I’ll get it!” Heck, even my kids did that for a little while before cell phones because they wanted to talk to their friends and not the voicemail. However, I’ve always been guilty of letting phones ring if I didn’t want to talk on them with the attitude of, “If it’s important, they’ll call back.” I don’t even check to see who’s calling most of the time. I’m not a phone talker so there’s that.

    Like

    • I know – everyone’s so busy these days, it’s true. I have a sister who doesn’t like to talk on the phone, either, unless it’s something really important to her. I guess it’s all a matter of perspective, really. We all need to make choices, that’s all. Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you have an awesome week! 🙂

      Like

  • I’d forgotten all about the words, “I’ll get it”, echoing through the house! My brother loved to answer the phone. Me, not so much. I’ve always had anxiety about talking on the phone. I’m even guilty of not having set up my voicemail so people can leave messages. *hangs head in shame* But I do call my parents back when I see they’ve called and my kids had better do the same! 🙂

    Like

    • Well, that’s good that you call your parents because that’s what every good daughter or son should do. I know I always called my mother when she was still living. But sometimes it’s like pulling teeth to get your kids to do that, isn’t it? They just seem to think that texting is the answer. I just think that you need to take time for people, that’s all. Have a great day! 🙂

      Like

  • You brought back memories of “i’ll get it” it was always a race to see who could grab the phone first in our house! I love texting for something short- to touch base- to let someone know I am thinking about them when I really do not have the time for a chat. But I do enjoy catching up on the phone -but it is mostly with people my own age,not those younger

    Like

    • Yes, I remember those races well – sometimes they erupted into arguments! 🙂 The reason I wrote this entry was because of one day a few weeks ago when my daughter and I were trying to plan an outing and she said we could text each other about it. Well, about thirty texts and two hours later our plans were still not finalized and I’d had enough. I texted her, saying: “No more texting. Call me.” She did, and ten minutes later we were finished with the planning. And I thought: See, we could have finished this so much quicker if only you had phoned me like I’d wanted all along! I think she did get the message, though, because she has been phoning me more ever since! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

