Share Your World – 2015 Week #15

refRegarding your fridge, is it organized or a mess inside?

Yikes!!! I would love to say that my fridge is organized; however, I must be honest and say that it is half and half – organized and a mess. There are some things in my fridge that are always in the same place like the milk, water, orange juice; as a matter of fact, all of our liquids are always on the top shelf for easy access. I guess we are very thirsty people! 🙂 And then our cheese and lunch meats are always in our meat drawer. On the door compartments we have condiments and butter. And of course the freezer has those foods which are frozen. But other than that, our fridge does get a bit messy. And this is especially true when our kids come to visit!

Have you ever been a participant in a parade? What did you do?

Now you have touched on a subject that is near and dear to my heart. When our kids were about six, they were part of our community’s junior royalty program and each of them spent one summer representing our community while sitting on a float in parades. I do want to clarify, however, that this blaine paradejunior royalty program was NOT a beauty pageant. It was something totally different than that. It was based on their personality, good behavior and manners, and ability to get along with others because they were being chosen to be ambassadors for our community. We attended between 20-30 parades each summer for all three of our children. Believe me, it was a whirlwind of activity! As parents, my husband and I had the responsibility of helping to set up the float along with the other parents. My husband also took his turn driving the car which pulled the float. After the float was set up, then we’d drive down the parade route to find a location where we’d set up our lawn chairs so we could view the parade and cheer for our float as it passed by, and take tons of pictures, of course! And then the best part was when our float would win an award, which was quite often (although I certainly don’t mean to brag.)

How do you stand out from the crowd?

Our cruise 1I think the way that I stand out from the crowd is that I am always the one who is organized when it comes to schedules, dates, times, etc. For example: when my husband and I took our Our cruise 2one and only cruise for our 25th wedding anniversary almost fifteen years ago, we were accompanied by my sister and her husband and my lifetime friend and her husband. When it came to the activities that we wanted to be involved in, I was the one who kept us all on schedule. And boy – did I ever get teased about that! “Cindy,” they’d say, “you’re on vacation, just relax.” But oh no, not me. I knew that if someone didn’t keep track of the time we’d never make it to half the things we wanted to do. I guess you could also say that I’m a take-charge kind of person, too. This stands to reason since I was the charge nurse of the surgery department that I worked in for seven years. And that was quite a job, believe me. I’m also friendly, laid back, and very approachable.

How many bones, if any, have you broken?

oak treeI fractured my left ankle when I was fifteen. I’ll never forget that incident. There was this huge oak tree in our neighborhood that me and my friends liked to hang around at. One day we decided to climb this oak tree. And when it was time to go home, one of the girls, who was a real tomboy, and the last to get down from the tree, called out to us saying that she couldn’t get down. I tried to tell her just how to maneuver out of the oak tree, but she couldn’t broken ankledo it because she was afraid she’d slip and fall. So I agreed to climb back up into the tree and show her how to get back down. As I was almost near the bottom, I missed my footing and slid down to the ground, landing hard on my left ankle. Nothing ever hurt so much in my life! It was when I tried to stand up that I knew something was very wrong. My friends had to help me up and with their arms supporting me, I hopped home on one foot, which was a couple blocks from the tree. When I arrived home and my parents saw how swollen my ankle was, they knew they’d have to take me in for medical attention. When I was asked how it happened, I had to tell my father that I tripped over the ropes around a neighbor’s yard because I knew he wouldn’t approve of me climbing the old oak tree.

gratefulBonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am so grateful that my the cataract surgery on my right eye went off without a hitch. As a matter of fact, this time the surgeon noticed that I was a bit more apprehensive (although I wasn’t aware that I was) and because of this, they gave me more sedation, and I don’t remember a thing, a fact for which I am very grateful for! And when I returned for my post-op visit to my surgeon the next day, he said that I now have 20/20 vision in both eyes – without glasses! YAY!!! Ah – the miracle of modern medicine! I’m so very happy! In three weeks I return to my ophthalmologist for a final check-up, and if everything checks out, then I’m done! I’m ever so grateful!

This week I’m looking forward to a new class that I’m starting online. I’m a huge history buff, and the abe-lincoln-hatclass that I’m taking is being taught by the Smithsonian Institute. It’s called “Objects That Define America.” It’s being offered through edX, and the best part about it is that all their classes online are free! Now you can’t get much better than that, right? I’ve already watched the first lecture video and the curator of the museum showed us Abraham Lincoln’s iconic top hat. It was so interesting to learn all the facts about this hat. You know the 3 inch band that he wore about that top hat? The reason he wore this band around his hat was in memory of his 11-year-old son Willie who died of an illness, most likely typhoid fever. It was like a mourning band.

So now you know a little more about me.

I’m glad we had this time together and I’d like to thank you for spending it with me. I’m so pleased that I was able to share a bit about myself and my world with you and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Best,

Cindy's signature with flower and butterfly

 

 

 

 

share your world

 

This post is presented as part of the Share Your World Challenge. If you’d like to be part of this great activity, please click here:

Cee’s Share Your World Challenge

 

4 comments

  • I so enjoy reading your responses. That is a cool program your children (and family) were involved in. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Cee! It’s always so nice to hear from you. I really enjoyed the questions you posed this week, but that’s nothing new because you know I always enjoy your questions! 🙂 Oh yes, we loved the junior royalty program. It was a great program for our children to be involved in – they grew in so many ways – especially self-confidence. And we met so many wonderful people. As for you, my friend, I can hardly wait to see what questions you have in store for this week! I hope you have an awesome week! I send you my hugs! 🙂

      Like

  • I really enjoyed reading this and learning more about you!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

