Writing 101- Day Nine: “Changing Moccasins – Point of View”

Day Nine – Changing Moccasins – Point of View:  

* Today’s Prompt:  A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.

* Today’s Twist:  Write the scene from three different points of view: from the perspective of the man, then the woman, and finally the old woman.

The Woman

It’s such a lovely day for a walk in the park with John. I’m so glad that he decided to take the day off to spend it with me. We both needed a day to just be together, to unwind, to relax, to… forget.

Spring arrived early this year, with warm breezes, gentle rain showers, and plenty of sunshine to help the flowers bloom and the buds on the trees to open. I can hear the birds calling to each other in the branches of the trees, their birdsong cheerful. It’s as though they’re saying: “Life is good. Be happy.” But that’s a lot easier said than done … 

Oh, I must shake off these thoughts. It won’t do either of us any good to keep thinking of what happened that awful day. I promised myself that I would not dwell on all that has gone before. It’s over now. I must be strong for John, for both of us. We must move forward.

The Man

Meredith seems happy today. And that’s a good thing. I’m glad. She’s been through so much. God knows we both have.

I wouldn’t have wished the last two months on my worst enemy. And why it happened to us, I’ll never know. God… why did it have to happen? Why? What was the sense to it all? I’ve asked myself this same question so many times, but have never understood. I know I’ll never understand. Not in a million years. If God stood before me right now and told me why I probably still wouldn’t understand. What did I ever do to deserve this? What did we do to deserve this? We’re good people. We work hard, go to church, contribute to our community. Don’t we deserve rewards instead of punishment? I just don’t get it. Why God? Why? 

Okay. Meredith says we have to move forward. I know she’s right. But it’s so hard. I keep seeing his face, his smile. I keep hearing his laugh, and the way he used to call me “Daddy.” How can I move forward when all those things keep spinning around in my memory? Maybe if I hold Meredith’s hand a bit tighter I’ll feel better. There. That helps.

Who’s that? I wonder if Meredith sees that old woman sitting on the bench over there. She kind of reminds me of my grandmother. She used to spend hours sitting in her rocking chair, always knitting something. She said it helped to pass the time. Oh my God… that looks just like his sweater… (sob) please God … no … (sob)

The Old Woman

A beautiful day, a beautiful day. God’s in His heaven and all is well. Knit one, purl two, knit one, purl two. Oops, dropped  a stitch there, go back and pick it up. Must keep going … idle hands are the devil’s workshop.red knitting 300

Oh, my. Look at that lovely couple entering the park. He’s so tall and dashing and she’s so slender and beautiful. Just like a prince and his princess. I’d say they look perfectly matched. Oh, and they’re holding hands, just like a couple in love should do. 

Oh dear, but something’s not quite right. I can see that from here, that’s for certain. Hmm… what is it about the two of them?

Ah yes, I know what it is. They have a look of profound sadness on their faces. She’s trying to hide it a lot more than he is, though. But she can’t fool me. Oh, no. Something very sad has touched their lives, something that is going to take a long time for them to get over, that’s for certain. They’re going to need each other now more than ever. Yes, that and the tincture of time will provide healing for them.

What’s that now? The beautiful lady is embracing the handsome man. It looks like she’s comforting him. How lovely. That’s right. Make him feel better. That’s good, very good. I’m glad she knows what to do. Oh, look. They’re leaving the park now, probably going home. I hope they’ll find solace in each other’s arms.

Oops, dropped another stitch. Go back and pick it up. Knit one, purl two, knit one, purl two. Must keep going … idle hands are the devil’s workshop.

blogging-university-blogging-101 1000

2 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

