Writing 101- Day Five: “Be Brief”

Day Five – Be Brief:  

* Today’s Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

* Today’s Twist:  Approach this post in as few words as possible.

It was a crisp morning in October while I was taking my usual morning walk down the trail which led to the river when I saw it lying there among the multicolored leaves which were strewn across the path. For some unknown reason, I looked down saw what looked like a carefully folded piece of paper partially hidden by the leaves of gold, orange, red, and brown which were strewn across the path. It read: Robert's love letter

Darling,

Please forgive me for everything I’ve put you through. I love you with all my heart. Because of this, I”m ready to change, just as you asked.  Meet me at the bridge on Friday at midnight. If you decide that you don’t want to spend the rest of your life with me, then I don’t want to live without you. If that is the case, remember that I always loved you.

Always and forever yours,

Robert

A chill came over me as the realization dawned on me what Robert meant when he wrote that he could not live without his “darling.” I began a frantic search for an envelope so that I could send the letter to Robert’s “darling,” but to no avail. Finally I had to resign myself to the fact that there are just some things that I could not change, that I had no control over, and I could only pray that Robert was safe on this October day.

blogging-university-blogging-101 1000

5 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

