Writing 101- Day Three: “Commit to a Writing Practice”

Day Three – Commit to a Writing Practice:  

* Today’s Prompt:  Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

* Today’s Twist:  You’ll commit to a writing practice. 

Music has always been an integral part of my life from the time I was very young and learned to sing my ABC’s. I’m always singing a song wherever I go, and if I’m not singing, then I’m humming or even whistling a tune. I’ve been a member of our church choir since 1978 and can play the flute, guitar, organ, and just began taking piano lessons last year at the age of 57, which has been a lifelong dream. Even our children are musically inclined and our youngest daughter is pursuing her master’s degree in music performance on the cello. My life would not be the same if it did not include music in some capacity.

There are several songs that have special meaning to me, but I think the one that has holds the most significance for me is How Can I Keep From Singing  written by Robert Wadsworth Lowry. The reason I chose this song is because it helped me through a dark period in my life. In 2004 I was forced into retirement from nursing by severe medical conditions that came on suddenly. I also had to undergo surgery at that time which in turn resulted in the complication of an injury to my recurrent laryngeal nerve. Because of this, my left vocal cord was paralyzed and the gift that God had given me, the gift which I treasured beyond anything else, my singing ability, was taken away from me. I had to drop out of our church choir and was very depressed. Not only could I no longer work, but I could no longer do the one thing I loved doing above everything else – sing. I would listen to this song and I knew in my heart that some day I would sing again. Gradually my right vocal cord moved over to function with my left vocal cord and after eight years, I could sing again! The day that I rejoined our church choir was one of the happiest days in my life.

MIKE - THE LOVE OF MY LIFE

MIKE – THE LOVE OF MY LIFE

The next song that has significance to me is Bridge over Troubled Water by Simon and Garfunkel. It is a song which describes what my husband Mike is to me. He is always there for me, no matter what the circumstances may be. Whether it’s in good times or bad times, through sickness and through health, whether we’ve been financially secure or not, he’s never wavered, not for one single moment. I have always been able to count on his love and support. He has always been my bridge over troubled water,

The last song which has special meaning to me is On Eagles Wings by Michael Joncas. I’ve  chosen this song because it was my mother’s favorite song and whenever we’d go to church and they’d have it listed as one of the hymns we were going to sing, she’d be so happy. It was one of the songs that we had sung at her funeral. I miss my dear mother, and whenever I hear it or we sing it in church, I think of her. She has been gone for a very long time now: twenty-eight years. Our son was only three when she passed on to her heavenly reward. She never did meet our two daughters. I know that our daughters would have loved their Grandma, and it makes me sad that they never had the chance to know her. But I do have comfort in the knowledge that some day we will all be together again, carried to meet her on eagle’s wings, and held together there in the palm of God’s hand.

blogging-university-blogging-101 1000

14 comments

  • Very meaningful songs and experiences! I feel closer to you through your writing.

    Like

    • Hi Michelle. That is so sweet of you to say! Isn’t this workshop a great experience? I’ve been meeting so many nice people, and I definitely count you as one among them! I hope your day is awesome! 🙂

      Like

  • Bridge over troubled water is one of my chosen songs, I haven’t heard the other two before but may take the time to listen to them after. I’m glad to hear you can sing again, I love singing and have recently joined a choir. I’m also a nurse who after 32 years has had to move into another area of work due to a medical condition which also came on suddenly. I am loving my new job though and it allows me to engage in courses like this blogging one. My loves are music; singing and listening to it and writing; poetry and song lyrics mainly 🙂

    Like

  • NICE! good job…I tried to get a video on, but three times I have tried and failed…now I have to do other things…before I start again!…I love your choices of songs too….so many songs…so much meaning! Have a great day!

    Like

  • Really, really nice. I think one of the saddest things is when kids don’t know their grandparents. Life seems unfair when that happens. lily

    Like

    • Thanks so much for visiting today and for your lovely comments. I appreciate it so much! I hope you have an awesome day! 🙂

      Like

    • I also wanted to tell you that I promise to come visit your blog after my cataract surgery tomorrow. It’s been difficult to write and read with only one eye functioning. I am going to try to get tomorrow’s assignment done as soon as I get it, although I know it will be a struggle. But as I said, I promise to come visit you after my surgery. Have a great day! 🙂

      Like

  • Wow, that was beautiful. Thanks for sharing your story with us and so glad to hear you can sing again 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I’m so happy that I was able to share my story with you today and I’d like to thank you for visiting today – you’ve been very kind. I hope your day is amazing! 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

