Share Your World – 2015 Week #13

What was your favorite subject in school?english

I actually had two favorite subjects in school. The first subject may not surprise you because after all, I am a writer. And that subject just happens to be English. Naturally my study of the English language began from the very first time that I started to learn my ABC’s, and once I learned that I could take those very same letters of the alphabet and put them together to form words, I was hooked! I excelled in my English classes, but my number one nemesis is my “frenemy” the comma. Now it’s not that I don’t use the comma enough. No. That’s not my problem. I have the opposite problem of using the comma too much. I have gone over and over the comma rules but I still can’t seem to get it right. Maybe some day . . .

My other favorite subject is history and ” I agree with what Pearl S. Buck once wrote: “If you want to understand today, you have to search yesterday.” And this is why I think history is such an important school subject. My favorite period in history to study is the American Revolutionary War which took sighing of declaration of independence 2place from 1775-1783. Just the fact that the thirteen American colonies, struggling for their independence from Great Britain, were able to hold their own and eventually triumph over the greatest army in the world (that being the King’s British Army) has always amazed me and filled me with a sense of American pride. I have always felt that the Americans were fighting for the right ideals – that all men are created equal and have the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. They felt the need for independence, with the right to be free from the tyranny of King George II and in turn govern themselves. I would have loved to have been present when the Declaration of Independence was signed. As a matter of fact, twenty years ago my husband and I were in Philadelphia and were able to visit Independence Hall. As I stood inside its sacred walls, which was the site of the Second Continental Congress for our forefathers, I felt almost a sense of reverence and definitely a sense of awe. Yes, I guess I’m what you would call a history buff!

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the moments that take your breath away” (George Carlin). When have you had such a moment?sarah and steph 500

I can say without hesitation that each time I held our two daughters Sarah and Stephanie in my arms after giving birth to them, I was definitely filled with joy, wonder, amazement, and so much unconditional love that I thought I would burst. And if that doesn’t qualify as a moment that takes your breath away, I don’t know what does. And each time was special in its own right. I felt as though God had given me a very special gift and I wasn’t even sure what I had ever done to deserve such a privilege. And I am thankful still to this very day for that privilege.

But I must say that the very first time that this kind of moment came to me arrived before our daughters were born. Our husband and I were waiting to adopt a baby because we’d suffered a miscarriage eight years before, with no further success in conceiving. I was working full-time during the day and attending evening nursing classes. On this particular day I had taken off work because I had an important nursing exam that evening.

I’d been on the phone with a friend from class discussing the exam material and as soon as I hung up, my phone rang. It was my husband. l was shocked when he told me that the adoption agency had called him to say that we Joe & Lola - 4 X 6were to come in the next morning and pick up our baby son, who we had decided to name Joseph (Joey). He then told me that I could call the social worker at the agency if I had any more questions.

My hands were shaking as I called her because I could barely contain my excitement. I wanted so much more information than my husband had received because he didn’t ask half the questions that I had for her. The social worker was so sweet and answered all my questions. When I asked her what our new son’s birth date was, she answered: “November 22nd.” I immediately began to sob as the tears streamed down my cheeks. I could barely speak as she asked me, “What’s wrong, Cindy?” I told her that when we were pregnant eight years before, my due date was November 22nd! She was silent for ten seconds or so. And then she said very quietly. “God works in mysterious ways, my dear. I truly believe that this little boy was meant to be your son.”  And that was the first moment when my breath was ever taken away.

What’s your choice: jigsaw, crossword, or numeric puzzles?jigsaw puzzle 1

I absolutely adore puzzles. All kinds of puzzles. I used to be on a jigsaw puzzle spree and I would do them whenever I had a spare moment of time, hour upon hour, day by day. I had stacks of puzzle boxes down in my basement: 500-pieces, 750-pieces, 1000-pieces, 1500-pieces, square, rectangular, round, 3-D, you name it – I had it. And then one day my husband got tired of looking at all those puzzle boxes. He bundled them all up and brought them out to the garage and told me that he was going to bring them to the Salvation Army. And he did! That was the end of my jigsaw puzzle days. But it was fun while it lasted.

crossword 100These days I’m into crossword puzzles, which I’ve always enjoyed for as long as I can remember. There is a reason why my interest in them has been reignited. It has to do with our technological age. This is because I can now download these nifty crossword puzzle games on to my phone instead of having to stuff a crossword puzzle book into my purse and it comes in so handy when I’m waiting somewhere like a doctor’s office, the pharmacy, the hair salon, or any other time that I want to do a crossword puzzle. They help to pass the time and since I have always enjoyed words, they are a perfect match for me. I enjoy trying to figure out what the words are, narrowing down the possibilities, and it’s always so much fun when I get them on the first try. Besides that, crossword puzzles are so good for you, especially as you grow older because they help to keep the mind sharp, and that’s always a good reason to do them, no matter what age you are. And no, a proper lady never tells her age!

If you found an obviously abandoned car with $50,000 in the back seat, what would you do?

If there was no way to find out who the money belonged to, and I knew that I could do with it whatever I wanted to, then I think I would divide it between our three children, I’m so proud of my kids because money 100they all have their bachelor degrees, and our youngest is working on her master’s, but in order to do so, they all worked their way through college, and they all have school loans to pay off. So even though it wouldn’t be much, at least it would be something to help them with their college loans.

student loansI really do think this is something that our country needs to work on, though. It’s such a shame that the young people in this country have to pay such exorbitant rates for their college education and then when they work so hard to graduate they find it difficult enough just to find employment, much less pay off their huge college loans. Talk about adding insult to injury. How discouraging for so many of them. Two of my own children have already experienced this in their post-college lives. Currently neither one of them are working in the field of their choice, but they are having to deal with paying off their college loans and will be for many years to come. After all, how many parents can afford to pay for their children’s college education? I think it is such a shame. After all, our children are our future. We need to make it better for them.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am so grateful that my cataract surgery went perfectly. And it was a piece of cake. As it turns out, I perfect visionwas nervous for nothing. I didn’t feel a thing. Actually, it reminded me of an eye exam. And now the vision in my left eye is 20/20! Can you believe it? It is like a miracle! I am absolutely thrilled and I can hardly wait to go back and have the surgery done on my right eye! For now, I have a contact lens in my right eye, so guess what? No glasses, except for reading. And I was so grateful that our daughter Sarah came to our house to be with me after the surgery so that my husband could go to work. I am truly blessed to have such amazing children. How I do love them! Thank you, Sarah!

family 500I’m also grateful that our daughter Stephanie came home on her spring break from college. It has been so wonderful to have this time to spend with her. And I’m also thankful that our family was able to spend an early Easter dinner this Sunday since Stephanie has to return to Wisconsin early on Easter Sunday. We had a wonderful dinner and afterwards we had a great time playing games. Oh, how we laughed! At one point Sarah and I were laughing so hard that I had tears streaming down my cheeks. Stephanie is so funny sometimes! Good times with the family and great memories! I justgrateful 500 loved Sunday and I love them all so much. My family means everything to me.

This week I’m looking forward to some relaxation because last week was really quite stressful for me because of the surgery and getting ready for the weekend. I’m also looking forward to spending more time with my daughter Stephanie. And as always, plenty of piano practice!

So now you know a little more about me.

I’m glad we had this time together and I’d like to thank you for spending it with me. I’m so pleased that I was able to share a bit about myself and my world with you and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Best,

Cindy's signature with flower and butterfly

 

 

 

 

 

share your world

 

 

This post is presented as part of the Share Your World Challenge. If you’d like to be part of this great activity, please click here:

Cee’s Share Your World

 

 

4 comments

  • Hi Cee! Aw. . . that’s so sweet of you. And you know how much I love writing for your event – I look forward to it every week. May you have a blessed Easter! 🙂

    Like

  • What a fabulous story. I’m glad Cee shared it with me.

    I am also a writer and history buff, although I don’t know that I have a specific era in mind. I went through a period of reading letters and diaries of the women who came through on the Oregon Trail. Those were some truly amazing stories of courage and perseverance.

    It’s nice to get to know you, too.

    Like

    • HI Chris. I’m so glad that you enjoyed my story. It’s nice to meet a fellow history buff. I think the stories of the Oregon Trail are also fascinating and the women who lived through those time were truly remarkable. I hope your Easter is wonderful! 🙂

      Like

  • The miracle of your kids and their births and birthdate just made me cry joyful tears for you. Thanks ever so much for sharing. Glad your surgery went well…

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

