The Simple Life

I was born and raised in Minnesota, and except for spending one year in North Dakota with my husband, I have lived in Minnesota all my life. Therefore, I am used to the change of seasons, and I believe that I would truly miss seeing the leaves change color in the autumn. I’m even used to the ice and the snow in the winter, and I know for a fact that I would miss having a white Christmas. I know it might sound strange that a person would actually not mind having blizzard-like conditions in December and below-freezing wind chill temperatures in January, but when you’ve lived with it all your life, it’s hard to change. Therefore, I really wouldn’t want to live anywhere else; I’m happy right where I am. But since the blog prompt says that I HAVE to choose another place to live for a year, I guess I’ll have to try to be flexible, at least for the duration of this entry.

If I HAD to choose another place to live,  I would choose someplace that’s warm all year-long, just for a change of pace. However, I definitely would not choose California because of the earthquakes. Now I realize that Minnesota has tornadoes, but at least we can predict tornadoes to some degree; whereas earthquakes cannot be predicted as far as I know. And the thought of being swallowed up by the earth is not high on my list of how I want to finish out my life. Therefore, California is definitely out. Florida might be okay, but there you have to deal with hurricanes, right? I can’t see myself boarding up the windows every time a hurricane is predicted to strike.

After thinking about it for a while, I believe I have come up with the perfect place to live. I think I’d like to live on a deserted island with my family, somewhere in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, Desert Island 1where the weather is warm and sunny all year-long.   It would have a beautiful sandy beach with lots of lovely and interesting sea shells ripe for the picking. There would be plenty of leafy palm trees to lend shade from the sun, and the island would be full of flowers, fruit, medicinal herbs, and edible plants. My husband, son, and son-in-law love to fish and hunt, so we would have plenty to eat each day. This island would have a cave, which would be the perfect safe haven in case of violent storms or hurricanes, and it would also have plenty of fresh drinking water.

There would be no cell phones, no televisions, no traffic, no everyday hustle and bustle. Just peace and quiet. Just tranquility. We’d be away from the rat race and in a place of beauty and relaxation. We wouldn’t have a care in the world.

We could build a house in a tree, just like the family in Swiss Family Robinson. I, of course, would be like the queen of the castle, being the matriarch of our family. I would assign everyone their simple chores, making sure they were all finished each day. But best of all, I could do whatever was my heart’s desire, which I suppose would go like something like this:

  • Awake to a beautiful sunrise.
  • Eat breakfast while listening to the monkeys play in the branches high above me.
  • Take a walk with hubby on the beach. Collect sea shells.
  • Work on the novel I’m writing.
  • Eat lunch while watching the monkeys try to steal my husband’s dessert when he’s not looking.
  • Write in my journal.
  • Sit with with my children and their spouses and watch as my grandchildren play on the beach.
  • Take a nap.
  • Eat dinner with the entire family – luau style
  • Play games with the family.
  • Watch a breathtaking sunset.
  • Take a moonlight stroll on the beach with hubby.
  • Go to sleep listening to the waves crashing on the beach.

Yes, I suppose that life on a deserted island wouldn’t be too bad, as long as I had my family with me, and a few necessary must-haves in order to survive. I especially love the thought of getting away from the rest of the world. It might be quite enjoyable, come to think of it. We might not have a white Christmas, but it might be well-worth the trade for the simple life.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “To find the universal elements enough; to find the air and the water exhilarating; to be refreshed by a morning walk or an evening saunter… to be thrilled by the stars at night; to be elated over a bird’s nest or a wildflower in spring — these are some of the rewards of the simple life.” ~ John Burroughs

 

8 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

