Simple Pleasures

tea-party-tea-rep0507-de

 

Isn’t it funny how everyone does seem to have their own particular drink that they fancy? As a matter of fact, there are even some people who cannot seem to live without it; or at the very least, start their day without it, especially when it comes to drinking their morning cup of coffee!

I think this must have something to do with the fact that as humans, we absolutely are creatures of habit.

Did you know that about 83 percent of adults drink coffee in the United States, which averages out to about three cups a day per person, or 587 million cups? As a matter of fact, the United States is the world’s biggest consumer of the beverage. I mention these statistics because I knew it would be the most popular drink for the average American adult.

I used to drink coffee in my early adult years, when my mother was still living, and I was still living at home. I cherish the memory of many mornings spent sitting at the breakfast table across from her, sharing a cup of coffee together, chatting about everything, just the two of us. But I don’t drink coffee anymore, so I’m not included in the statistics cited above. We do own a coffee maker; however, which is used only whenever our children or company visits our home.

My favorite beverage is tea, hot tea. I do not care for iced tea at all. But I love steaming, hot tea. What kind of tea, you ask? Ah, that is my favorite part. I love all different flavors. Green tea, green chai tea, apple cinnamon, holiday dream, florence, coconut cabana, chocolate peppermint patty, chocolate cherry bomb, chamomile, peach … there are just so many that I love!

I am a little picky about my tea; however. I do not like to use tea bags. I prefer to use tea from tea leaves because I think it tastes fresher and better. I also use filtered water and a French press to make my tea because I have found that the French press makes a perfect cup of tea! I also use a little milk and sugar to make my tea taste just right. Tea relaxes and soothes me. It is one of the comforts of life that I enjoy.

Could I live without my tea? Yes, I suppose I could. But why should I? It’s just one little pleasure in life that I think I deserve, so I think I’ll keep on enjoying it. After all, life is short. We must enjoy it while we can.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “Pleasure is the Divine seasoning in the diet of life.”  ~ Lewis F. Korns

 

 

 

 

8 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

