Written From My Heart

As we all know, it is probably the wish of every writer to write a book which will be read by millions of people, right? And since I am one of those writers, I am no different.book heart 100

I have always wanted to write the “great American novel.” As a matter of fact, did you know that there’s even a definition for the “great American novel?”

Oh, yes. I looked it up, and according to Wikipedia, the “Great American Novel” is defined as:  The concept of a novel that is distinguished in both craft and theme as being the most accurate representation of the spirit of the age in the United States at the time of its writing or in the time it is set. It is presumed to be written by an American author who is knowledgeable about the state, culture, and perspective of the common American citizen. The author uses the literary work to identify and exhibit the language used by the American people of the time and to capture the unique American experience, especially as it is perceived for the time. In historical terms, it is sometimes equated as being the American response to the national epic. 

Therefore, if you go by that description, it’s easy to see why a writer would want to write such a book.

Just think about what writing such a book would do for a person; namely: Fame and Fortune.

First, there’s the fame that goes along with such an achievement. As the author of this book, people would recognize you wherever you go. Crowds of adoring fans would gather, with everyone clamoring for your autograph on the book that you’ve written and that they have purchased. You’d probably be asked to appear on television programs like The Tonight Show, Good Morning America, The Ellen DeGeneres Show, or any of a number of other television programs, just to be interviewed about your bestselling book. As a matter of fact, these shows would probably be involved in a bidding war over who would be lucky enough to have you appear on their show.

And then there’s the fortune that comes with it. It only stands to reason that if you write a bestselling novel being purchased by millions of people that you are going to make a good deal of money from those sales, right? And all those television appearances – I wonder how much a person is compensated for making those appearances? I’m sure that it’s no small amount. And if those shows are in a bidding war, as I described above, then you would be compensated even more handsomely, right? And just think of how a person’s lifestyle would change after making all that money. A person could buy a bigger house, a more expensive car, etc. The possibilities are endless.

But I wonder . . . would a person truly be happy?

Perhaps someone else would be, but I don’t think I would. These two things – fame and fortune – have never mattered to me – ever. You can ask anyone who knows me and they will tell you that this is true. I don’t care about having a big house or a brand new expensive car or any other luxury items and I never have. I happen to know that it’s not having “things” in life that make a person happy. And fame? I only care that the people whom I love and care for know me – my family and my friends. They’re the ones who matter to me, not the entire world.

Therefore, I’d much rather write a book that is meaningful, a worthwhile book that is studied and admired by a few, a book that I can be proud of. And if that book is studied and admired by people for decades, then that would be the best part of all. This means that I would be remembered for my work long after I am gone, and that is indeed something worth striving for.

So, you can have the fame and fortune. They are but fleeting commodities. I may never write “the great American novel,” but I will be happy doing what I do best, and that is writing from my heart.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.” ~ William Wordsworth

 

 

 

 

 

15 comments

  • Pingback: A Special Treat | A Slice of Life

  • I haven’t written on this prompt yet because the first thing that came to mind was that I would have preferred to write a novel only due to practical reasons. It seemed to me that paperback authors work a lot to come up with so many books one after another. Now, why can’t I have noble thought like you? lol

    Like

    • Hee-hee! 🙂 At least you’re honest! There’s nothing wrong with writing whatever YOU want to write; that’s what I think. You just have to stay true to yourself, that’s all that matters, I think. So write whatever YOU want to write, and that’s how you’ll be happy, I think. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have an awesome day!

      Liked by 1 person

  • A well written post! Sounds like you’ve thought things out fairly well, but I’ll add one more thought.

    I visited an elderly friend in a seniors’ home one day and she said, “they showed us a movie yesterday. They called it a ‘golden oldie’.” Then she humphed. “Some things are not golden; they’re just old!”

    She was brought up in a time of moral rights & wrongs, when good books encouraged virtues, and found ‘Gone With the Wind’ trashy. Trouble is, people get used to trashy; in time it’s called terrific.

    A lot of “Great Novels” have sold well and been well rated but mainly because they appeal to the baser emotions of mankind. There may be nothing of value in them — except perhaps to show you what you shouldn’t do. (Wuthering Heights comes to mind here. Nothing gained here except to observe a bad example.)

    Will ‘Fifty Shades of Gray’ someday be called a “great American novel”? As you say, it’s better to write something that someone gets something of value from, like good examples of people doing what they should and avoiding misery. Alas! it may not sell very well. If you want to make a fortune, write “The Life & Loves of Al Capone.”

    Like

    • What you say is true, I’m afraid. But as a writer, I have to stay true to myself, and that’s all I can do. Thanks for stopping by to visit; I appreciate it. I hope you have an amazing day! 🙂

      Like

  • Cindy you write so amazingly. I wish I could write the way you do.

    Like

    • Oh, dearest Sheen, you are one of the sweetest people that I know, and it is so kind of you to say that to me. I appreciate it so much, I really do. But I think you write very well, my friend. And not only that, but I could NEVER draw the way that you do! The best I can do is to draw stick people! So you are already way ahead of me! God gives us the gifts that He feels we will use to the best of our abilities, dear Sheen, and He has given you the gifts of kindness and a loving heart. And that is worth so very much! And you use them so very well. Thank you my friend, for just being you. 🙂

      Like

  • G’day Cindy,
    Well said, I couldn’t agree more, when I informed my writing group teacher I had no ambition to write “The Great Aussie Novel” she was horrified, i explained that I had self puplished all my pieces into one book, as a birthday gift for my biggest fan, my Hubby. The only reason I was in a writing group was to learn the skills I lacked when I originally wrote them, I am now in the middle of editing them all. Yes this will not change our life style but I made my Hubby a very proud man, and what more could a wife want lol

    Like

    • Oh, I so totally agree, my friend! You can keep the fame and the fortune, as far as I’m concerned, right? My family has requested that I write my life’s story, and I’m doing so, but only for them. They want the stories of the family so they can be handed down for future generations, but I know it won’t be a bestseller, and that’s not why I’m writing it; I’m writing it for them, and to please myself. It is a gift from the heart, and that’s how I write all my stories. They come from my heart. It’s so nice to know that there are like-minded people in the world, and I just knew that you were like me, my friend! 🙂

      Like

  • Maybe we can review one another’s books?

    Like

  • Agree completely! Really the way I look at it I’d want a reader to read my book and feel the way that you feel when you finish a great one. When you close the cover and feel a sense of remorse that the journey is over. When you hold the book with two hands and can see the full story clearly in your mind. You sit there thinking about the ending and imagine what’s next. Then you take a little piece of that book with you throughout your life. Whether it’s spoken out loud or not… It made an impact and changed you somehow. I think that should be the true dream of an author 🙂

    Like

    • Absolutely! That’s exactly how I feel. I could care less about the fame or the fortune. I want to be proud of the work I’ve done, to know that my work has made an impact on someone, somewhere, and that it will be something that will last forever. Thanks so much for stopping by to visit today; I really do appreciate it. I hope you have a fantastic day!

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

