A Writer’s Worst Enemy

writers-block-tipsThe most frustrating thing that can happen to a writer is when a writer gets writer’s block. To tell you the truth, I didn’t even want to type that word, because I can’t remember the last time that I had this dreaded condition, and I was a little afraid that if I even thought about it, then I might be tempting fate, and the next thing you know, I might come down with it! And we all know that having writer’s block is awful.

I truly cannot remember the last time I had this condition, thank heavens, but I do remember what it feels like. The words won’t come, no matter how hard you try. You sit and stare at a blank screen, willing your fingers to type the words, but nothing happens. Your mind is a total blank. And no matter how hard you try, not a single word comes to mind. Not a single thought, not a single idea goes through your head. It’s as though everything is disconnected. You feel as though you will never be able to write another word as long as you live. It’s very frustrating.

I do remember how I managed to get past it the last time I had it, though, because it’s the same thing I always do when I get writer’s block. I do anything else instead of writing. I will take a walk, go to a movie, go shopping, do some arts and crafts, do quilting, play the piano, etc. But I will always have a notebook with me because while I’m doing those things, an idea might come to me.

I wouldn’t wish this condition on my worst enemy of a writer (not that I have any). It’s terrible to have your creativity stifled.

And so now I think I’ve written enough about it, and I’m going to stop. I think I’ve tempted fate enough for one day.

 

 

 

 

9 comments

  • Pingback: The Self-Brainstorm | Valerie Thomas

  • I hate that feeling with a passion, then if I don’t get over it I just don’t feel right. Maybe I’m just OCD? lol

    Now.. where’s MY help button… mm…

    Like

  • I agree, wholeheartedly. However, what’s even worse than writer’s block is having all of these ideas and no time to write them down. I’ve got SO much to do this week, between doctor’s appointments, a custody battle, recovering from surgery, karate classes for my son (let alone entertaining him while all the other neighborhood kids are at day care). The list of things to do is never ending!! I, too, carry around a little notebook, and when I get an idea, I’m usually driving. By the time I reach my destination, it’s *poof* gone. SO aggravating. I’m giving some serious thought to buying a voice recorder (if they still make them). I was doing so good with my notebook, but then life started happening. So, now it feels as though I’m starting from scratch. But that’s okay. The operative word is starting. Today will be the day that I finally get to sit down and WRITE!! It’s like Christmas morning for me!! Now I just have to find the strength to sign off of WP and actually pick up a pen… And just for future reference, if you find yourself stuck, message me. I’ll help you out!

    ~Kate

    Like

  • I used to get this all the time too! Not knowing where to go next was always so frustrating. But then–no, I won’t. I was gonna pull one of those “but now I’ve found the answer” type of rants. Truth is, I still get blocked sometimes, but I either do what you recommend, or brainstorm with myself. Sometimes it helps me to write down the questions I’m trying to answer, the most obvious next steps, and such. I find a lot of my good ideas come from that: just sitting at the computer, talking to myself about what I’m going to write.

    Just my two cents.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

