Red-Letter Saturday #3: “The United States Post Office”

RED-LETTER SATURDAY #3:

postal-service

 

On this day, July 26, 1775, the office that would become the United States Post Office Department was established by the Second Continental Congress, appointing Benjamin Franklin as the first Postmaster General. It was a day which helped to improve communications in the birth of new nation, a vital component in the formation of the young United States of America.

 


 

The United States Postal Service delivers more mail to more addresses in a larger geographical area than any other post in the world. Last year, they processed 158.4 billion pieces of mail and handled 873.3 million inquiries. But I would venture to say that these numbers would be even higher were it not for the technological age that we live in today.

After all, when was the last time that you received a handwritten letter? Let me guess. If I’m right, it was probably at Christmastime, folded up neatly and tucked away inside a Christmas card. Many of us have those few relatives or friends who never fail to recount us with all that has happened during the past year in a nicely written Christmastime letter. You know the kind of letter I’m talking about. It’s the one that gives you a detailed account of what jobs the husband and wife are currently holding, what promotions they’ve received, if any, what home improvements they’ve made, what vacations they’ve taken during the year, how their various hobbies or activities are coming along, how their children are doing, how old the children are now, what grades the children are in, what sports and activities the children are involved in, what achievements they’ve made, what awards they’ve won, and the list goes on and on. Right? Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying those letters are bad. Not at all. In fact, sometimes they’re just wonderful. But they are predictable.

And isn’t it sad that we don’t receive these letters at another time of the year besides just Christmastime? After all, wouldn’t it be nice, just for once, to receive a letter in the middle of February or at the end of April or at the beginning of October? Wouldn’t it be nice if these letters were sent to you when you didn’t expect them? Or better still, what if you received these kinds of letters from people all the time? What if you weren’t surprised to receive these kinds of letters on a regular basis?

Yes, I know that there’s email. I know that it’s quick, easy, and it saves paper. But there’s just something quite lovely about retrieving that envelope addressed to you from your mailbox, physically holding it in your own two hands, touching it, even smelling it, that gives you that wonderful feeling of knowing that someone cared enough to take the time to sit down, write you a letter, put it into an envelope, place a stamp on it, and then post it, just for you. Now really, tell the truth – don’t you wish that now and then, you’d get a nice letter in the mail from a friend or family member?

The other day I received a letter in the mail from my oldest daughter. When I first opened it, I was worried because I was afraid of what I might read, although I’m really not sure why. I guess I’m just so conditioned to not receiving a handwritten letter, that I was certain it could only mean bad news. But I was pleasantly surprised to discover that there was no bad news. All she wanted to do was to surprise me by giving me a lift to my day, and indeed she succeeded.

And so, if you have some free time this week, why don’t you think about writing a letter of your own and sending it to someone you care about? I guarantee that they’ll probably be surprised, but I can also guarantee that you will make them happy.

Besides, I think we should start using our post office before we lose it. Wouldn’t that be a shame?

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “It’s funny; in this era of e-mail and voice mail and all those things that even I did not grow up with, a plain old paper letter takes on amazing intimacy.”   ~ Elizabeth Kostova

 

red letter saturday 2

 

 

This post is presented as part of my special weekly feature, Red-Letter Saturday. If you’d like to to know more information about Red-Letter Saturday, simply click here:

Red-Letter Saturday 

6 comments

  • I’ve thought about this, too. Thanks for letting me know I’m not alone.

    Like

  • I love your blog. Your writing style is fun to read and the topics are so relatable!

    Like

    • Aw…thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful words. I love Red-Letter Saturday, which is my own little feature that I created for my blog. I love history and it’s a fun way to incorporate a little history into my site. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks so much for visiting today. I hope the rest of your day is awesome!

      Like

  • Letters are definitely becoming extinct, except for phone and electricity bills. So in a way it’s kind of bad news when you open your mailbox and see one. In my family we have the tradition to send each other postcards from our holidays. It’s always exciting to receive one – you wonder what type of card they’ve chosen. Everyone has their preferences, my sister is the only one who sends random, funny ones and instead of writing she sometimes draws a story! I love the often beautiful stamps that other countries use.

    Strangely, email used to be special, too, but has evolved into something lazy, quick and impersonal over the years. I remember receiving my first email from a friend who lived in Switzerland. It was the year 1999 where people paid 10 Pfennig (about €0.05) per email and the internet was via dial up modem. People then put more thought into their email and often incorporated a nice or funny picture and added a pretty background image (the digital stationary).

    Right, that’s me off to write a letter now, I got inspired 🙂

    Like

    • Hi! I know. I miss getting letters in the mail. It’s rather sad, isn’t it? And you’re right – email has become a lazy, quick and impersonal thing. Thanks for stopping by today; I really appreciate. Have a wonderful day!

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

