Red-Letter Saturday #2: “The Parking Meter”

RED-LETTER SATURDAY #2:

parking meter 1

On this day, July 19, 1935, the first parking meter in the U.S., the Park-O-Meter, invented by Carlton Magee, was installed in Oklahoma City by the Dual Parking Meter Company. This forever changed parking as we know it. I dedicate this poem to automobile owners everywhere:

 

 

 

 


 

Today is such a busy day;

I’m running here and there.

There’s meetings for me to attend,

No time for me to spare.

 

I’m in the downtown area,

I have to park my car.

I spot a great location,

At a fancy coffee bar.

 

So I feed the parking meter,

With the change that it requires.

Thinking that I will return

Before the time expires.

 

I run my errands, take my meetings.

Time’s run out; I know I’m late.

I race to my car at breakneck speed.

Just dreading to know my fate.

 

Yes, I received a ticket,

And it made me want to cuss!

I think the next time I’ll plan better,

And maybe take the bus!

 

QUOTE OF THE DAY:   ”  A real patriot is the fellow who gets a parking ticket and rejoices that the system works.”  ~ Billy Vaughan  

 

 

red letter saturday 2

 

 

This post is presented as part of my special weekly feature, Red-Letter Saturday. If you’d like to to know more information about Red-Letter Saturday, click here:

Red Letter Saturday

 

4 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

