If You Could Read My Mind

Just think of all the thoughts I could uncover if I could read minds.

mind readingI would know what people are thinking about certain subjects, how they feel about certain things, but come to think of, I already do have a pretty good sense about those kinds of things already. I’ve always had the ability to read people, but it may help me to know how to approach people even better than I do now.

But then again, maybe I wouldn’t want to know.

To tell the truth, the more I think about it, the more I believe that I don’t think I’d want to know. After all, some things are better left unsaid, and that goes double for reading minds! I might find out some things that might offend me. After all, I do have a sensitive side; actually, I have a very sensitive side! Maybe I’d find out that I really do look too fat in the jeans I wear, or perhaps my hair style is not as flattering as I think it is. Or maybe I’d find out that people don’t think I’m as nice as I think they think I am. No, I don’t think I’d want to know.

Besides that, it truly is an invasion of privacy. It would be just like tapping someone’s phone or listening at a closed-door to a private conversation. I think if God had intended us to read minds, He would have given us that ability in the first place, don’t you?

But this subject reminds me of one of my favorite songs by Gordon Lightfoot. Do you remember it?

 

 

No, I think I’d rather not have this ability to read minds. Even though I consider myself an intelligent and sensible person, I don’t think I’m capable of handling such a responsibility, and to tell you the truth, I don’t think I want to. Besides, sometimes I’d rather be surprised!

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “Here in your mind you have complete privacy. Here there’s no difference between what is and what could be.”  ~ Chuck Palahniuk

 

 

 

12 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

