Charity Begins in a Home

country mansion 400

Today’s prompt is an interesting one to be sure, and I’m sure that everyone has their own ideas about what they would do if they inherited a dilapidated, crumbling-down grand mansion in the countryside. You must admit that the possibilities are endless and it would be difficult indeed to make a choice.

I had to take my time trying to make my decision because there were so many factors to consider, even though this is only a make-believe situation. I mean, after all, there is just no way that I will ever inherit a mansion from anyone. As far as I know, I don’t have any family members who possess such luxuries, unless I have some long-lost relatives that I have no prior knowledge of, which, I suppose is not entirely out of the realm of possibilities, but I doubt it. Alas, such things just don’t happen to people like me.

At first I considered keeping the mansion for my husband and me. We still live in the first house we ever purchased in 1978. We always thought that we’d “upgrade,” but something always got in the way of those plans – first having our children, then things needed for our children, followed by activities for our children, along with vacations with our children, and eventually college for our children – do you see where I’m going with this? Now our children are grown and on their own. What would we fill our mansion with? Just us? No. I think that a mansion would be too big for just the two of us.

Then I thought perhaps we could give the mansion to our children. But we have three children. So which child would we give the mansion to? Granted, they do love each other dearly and they are very close and always have been, but I sincerely doubt that they’d want to live together! Our oldest son is a bachelor, living on his own, with a carefree lifestyle at the moment. He’s very responsible, but I don’t think he’d want to live with his sisters. Our oldest daughter is married, but she and her husband are newlyweds, and why would newlyweds want to live with anyone? And our youngest daughter is getting ready to begin her master’s degree in music performance, and after that, who knows where she’ll be? She might be living in another state, performing in a symphony orchestra. No, I don’t think that giving the mansion to my children would be a good choice. And I certainly could never give it to just one of them. That would be playing favorites, right? I couldn’t do that.

But then I remembered that money is no issue in this make-believe situation. And I could do whatever I wanted. So I have come up with what I think would be a wonderful plan. I would remodel the mansion, make it fresh and new, just the way it looked when it was first built. Then I would furnish all the rooms, and I’m assuming that there are tons of bedrooms in this mansion, because every mansion has many, many bedrooms, right?

And then I would open it as a home for the homeless. It would be a place for all those who have no place to go, no place to sleep, no place to call home. It would be a place for people to stay while they try to get back on their feet again, while they’re looking for work, and there are so many people out there today who are in that situation. It will be a place for all the lonely and destitute and hungry people who need a helping hand.

I think this would be the best thing to do with my inherited mansion because I truly do believe that charity begins in a home.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “I expect to pass through life but once. If therefore, there be any kindness I can show, or any good thing I can do to any fellow being, let me do it now, and not defer or neglect it, as I shall not pass this way again.”  ~ William Penn

 

 

 

2 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

