Where Am I?

 

where-am-i

 

When it comes to getting lost, I am most definitely the person it happens to all the time. I’m almost embarrassed to admit it, but I don’t know north from south or east from west. As far as intelligence is concerned, I was always at the head of the class, but for some reason I must have been absent when the sense of direction was being handed out.  If you’re giving me directions, don’t say: “Drive north.” Please tell me instead: “Turn right,” or “Turn left,” because that’s the only way I’ll arrive to the destination without getting lost along the way.

Before the dawn of the GPA or Mapquest, I used to carry a notebook in the glove compartment of my car in which I had written the directions to every location I needed to travel to. This was my bible and I guarded it with my life. I recall there was one occasion when I couldn’t find my directions notebook and I was in such a panic. I practically tore my house apart while on a frantic search to find it. It was rather ironic, though, that the notebook which contained directions was lost.

Now my husband uses a different approach in getting to where he needs to go. Usually he knows where he’s going, but there are times when he does get lost, and instead of stopping to ask for directions, he continues to drive around until he finds his way. This drives me crazy. Here is how our conversation in the car will typically go:

“Mike, do you know where you’re going?”

“Well, I thought the turn was back there, but I guess not.”

“Why don’t we stop at that gas station coming up and ask somebody?”

“No, I think we’ll be able to find it.”

“You know how I hate it when you wander aimlessly around.”

“Yep.”

Then I usually heave a big sigh and he just continues to drive. And drive. And drive. And then finally, somehow, he’ll find the way. Every single time. And I’m amazed. Every single time.

I have never understood why men don’t ask for directions. Women don’t have a problem with asking for some help. We want to know where we’re going and like to get there as fast as possible. So just what is it with these men? Is it a matter of pride? I’ve asked my husband this very question and he’s never given me an answer. Maybe he doesn’t know.

But one thing’s for sure – at least when I’m with him and we get lost, I’m not alone, and I’d rather be lost together than to be lost by myself!

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “Getting lost is just another way of saying ‘going exploring.'” ~ Justina Chen

 

 

 

8 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

