I Know I’m Finicky

 

dinner 10

 

I have always been a finicky eater with a picky tongue for as long as I can remember. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that while I was growing up, our father insisted that we eat everything on our plate, whether we liked it or not, but I don’t know if that’s the best way to raise children.

For instance, when I was a child, I had a terrible aversion to peas even to the point that whenever I ate them, I would gag. But my father insisted that I had to eat them anyway. I can recall several occasions on which I would have to sit at the kitchen table long after supper was finished, trying miserably to swallow the now stone-cold peas, while my father observed, making sure I didn’t miss a single one, and gagging the entire time. To this very day, I still despise peas and can’t even stand the smell of them.

When raising our children, I used a totally different approach just because of the traumatic experiences of my childhood. I always insisted that they try every new food presented to them. Then, after trying it, if they didn’t like it, they didn’t have to eat it. I never believed in forcing it upon them. I am happy to say that they appreciate many more foods than I ever did.

I’m not big on condiments, either. That’s right. I don’t care for ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise, relish, pickles, barbecue sauce, or anything in that category.For some reason, I’ve just never cared for the taste. My husband calls me a “plain Jane eater.” I do enjoy using salt and pepper, however – especially salt, which is probably my biggest vice when it comes to food because I know it’s not good for me, but I do love my salt.

But when it comes to flavors: Sweet, sour, bitter, salty, unami (which I had to look up because I never even heard of it before), or spicy, my favorite among these is sweetness. Sweetness is such a delight to the senses. Perhaps that’s because it’s probably the first thing that a newborn tastes, isn’t it? I mean, when you think about it, doesn’t a newborn first taste milk, which is sweet? Yes, I love sweet things, especially, first and foremost – CHOCOLATE! I can’t live without my chocolate. It makes me happy. It relaxes me and soothes me. Yes, there’s just something about chocolate . . .

But if I had to choose one flavor that my sense of taste would no longer be able to distinguish, I would choose bitterness. I don’t like the shiver that goes through my body when that taste of bitterness hits my tongue. It makes me want to get rid of it as quickly as possible and just erase it from my mind. No. Bitterness I can definitely do without.

After all, life shouldn’t be bitter. What we all need is a little more sweetness in life.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “That it will never come again is what makes life so sweet.” ~ Emily Dickinson

 

 

 

6 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

