Summer Delights

I live in Minnesota, the “land of 10,000 lakes.” This means that we have four seasons: fall, winter, spring and summer; and believe me, when the Summer Solstice arrives, marking the longest day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere, it is indeed a cause for celebration for us. After all, most of the time, we Minnesotans are just bouncing back after coming through what has usually been a long, cold winter with dark, short days, and the thought of  a summer filled with warmer, brighter, longer days is very appealing right about now. Trust me, I absolutely take full advantage of summer while it is here; and while I love Minnesota because of the four seasons, as far as I’m concerned, summer is not long enough.

I love the earlier sunrises that summer brings. Many people might complain about this, but not me. I love to rise early, make my morning cup of tea, and take it with me out to my back yard deck. The early morning is the best time of the day to have a bit of peace and quiet, when all that surrounds me is the nature in my garden. I enjoy listening to the cheerful morning song of the birds and the busy chatter of the squirrels in the trees. It’s such a wonderful way to begin my day.

I spend a lot of time on my deck during the summer. My husband built our deck ten years ago, and it was the best addition we’ve ever made to our home because we use it constantly from May to October, or from the time the weather becomes warm enough until the time the weather becomes too cold. As long as I have plenty of mosquito repellent, I’m good to go. Yes, that is the only downside to Minnesota summers – the mosquitoes. And for some reason, they absolutely love me as a host, even more so than my husband. So I have my own personal bottle of mosquito repellent. I spend my days on our deck writing, reading, listening to music, talking on the phone, playing games on my phone, watching movies and shows on my laptop, and even napping. And my little dog Lucy loves it because it means she gets to romp around in the back yard chasing the squirrels and the birds. Of course, she never catches them, but she loves trying! We’ve also spent many happy hours with our children having barbecues, playing games, and just sitting around talking. I just love it when they come over to visit and we spend a summer day together on our deck.

I take advantage of the long summer days as much as I can because I know that in what seems like a blink of an eye, winter will be here once more, with its darker, shorter days. But then again, I probably wouldn’t appreciate the summer if I didn’t have the winter. And that’s why I like having four seasons – it gives you so much more appreciation of what God was thinking about when He put nature together.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “What good is the warmth of summer without the cold of winter to give it sweetness?”  ~ Unknown

2 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

