Home Is Where the Heart Is

Today’s prompt is an easy one for me and as soon as I read it, I knew in an instant what my answer would be. It asks the question, what special item would I bring with me on a year-long trip that would serve as my ounce of home?

I would bring along this photo of my family. It was taken last summer in our backyard when we celebrated the first wedding anniversary of our daughter Sarah and her husband Axel (standing on the far right) Next to our daughter Sarah is our daughter Stephanie, then me, my husband, Mike, and on the far left is our son Joe. It is a photo of one of the many happy memories that we have as a family.

My family is the single most important and precious possession in my life. They are essential to my being and mean everything to me. They are part of who I am. They give me strength when I am weak, encouragement when I need it, and they love me through it all. They comfort me in the sad times and rejoice with me in the happy times. They have been there for me through illness and dark days. We have cried together, laughed together, sung together, danced together, and have always been there for each other. Without them I would be lost. Without them I feel as though I would be nothing.

Yes, I would bring along this photo of my family because it would be the best reminder of home. And even though the rest of the world is a nice place to visit, there’s really no place like home, where my heart is, and my heart will always be is with my family.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “The family is one of nature’s masterpieces.” ~ George Santayana

12 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

