Celebrity For a Day

I’ve never really longed for fame; but I certainly wouldn’t turn down a little fortune, though. However, if I could become an instant celebrity for one day, it would not be a difficult choice for me to make.

If you read my post of May 29th, you’d know that I’ve had a lifelong love of music, so you probably won’t be surprised by my choice. And in keeping with the fact that I’ve just begun to live my childhood dream of playing the piano, I have chosen one of the world’s greatest pianists who is still alive and well: Martha Argerich.

Why? Music has always been an important part of my life for as long as I can remember. Music can transport me to so many places and can express my feelings in ways that I cannot express them myself. To be able to make music, whether it is through singing or through an instrument is a beautiful gift to the person who is performing, and to perform, thereby giving that gift of music to others is so rewarding.

I chose Martha Argerich because when she plays the piano, she plays as though she is giving us a gift that she has chosen just for us, a gift that she is putting her heart and soul into, one that God gave to her and that she is now giving to us. All you have to do is listen to her play and you will understand:

My favorite quote by Leo Buscaglia sums up how Martha Argerich plays perfectly:  “Your talent is God’s gift to you. What you do with it is your gift back to God.”  That’s how I want to play the piano some day.
As I said at the beginning of this entry, I’ve never really longed for fame. But someday, if I could play even a fraction as well as Martha Argerich, I would be content.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “The talent of success is nothing more than doing what you can do well, and doing well whatever you can do without thought of fame. If it comes at all, it will come because it is deserved, not because it is sought after.”  ~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

 

OTHER DREAMERS LIKE ME:

http://bohemianstargypsy.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/mother-starchild-daily-prompt/

http://abozdar.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/ballerina/

http://aerretha.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/sonata-of-dreams/

http://agonyandecstacy.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/being-jane-austen/

http://ubecute.com/2014/03/21/cinderella/

 

 

8 comments

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

