My Pride and Joy

If you ask just about any mother in the world the thing she is most proud of, I think you’ll find that she’ll answer without hesitation that it is her children. I’m no different. I’d have to say that my children have definitely been the source of my pride and joy for the last thirty-one years, and I have enjoyed “bragging rights” throughout those thirty-one years. During this time I have been a hockey mom, a baseball mom, a Cub Scout mom, a Girl Scout mom, a dance mom, a karate mom, a gymnastics mom, a theater mom, and an orchestra mom. I have always been their number one fan, supporting them in whatever they chose to do, cheering them on, encouraging them when they didn’t do so well and bragging about them whenever they succeeded. I consider my children my greatest accomplishment in life, and they have grown into three of the most amazing adults that I know.

 

Joe, Sarah, & Stephanie Summer of 2013

Joe, Sarah, & Stephanie
Summer of 2013

I am proud of all my children and I love them with all my heart. They know this because I have told them throughout their lives. But today I’d like to brag about something that one of our children has done recently, and that is our youngest child, Stephanie.

Stephanie is 23 years old and is our youngest daughter. I’d like to tell you her story because I think it really is quite special.

When Stephanie was in middle school, she was struggling just to get through the days. Not only was she having difficulties with her school work, but she was also having problems adjusting to the social aspects of middle school. My husband and I had a feeling that going from elementary school to middle school would not be an easy adjustment for Stephanie because she was somewhat of an introvert and didn’t seem to make friends as easily as her older sister. I even remember one conversation that my husband and I had at one point that college was not for everyone and we were facing the possibility that Stephanie might never go to college.

Then a miracle occurred; or at least, it seemed like a miracle to us. Stephanie decided she wanted to play an instrument instead of singing in the choir. This is when she discovered the cello. The cello became her best friend. She practiced and practiced until she became the best cellist in her school orchestra. Before long, she began to make new friends, all because of her new-found confidence she had gained from playing her cello. The cello changed her life. She continued to play throughout high school, and was always the first cellist in the orchestra. Her grades improved dramatically and to our delight, Stephanie did go to college.

This is the part where I get to boast: Last month, on May 16, 2014, Stephanie graduated from Minnesota State University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Music Performance.

Stephanie's College Graduation

Stephanie’s College Graduation

And here’s the most amazing part. In the fall, she will be attending the University of Wisconsin in Madison where she will be pursuing her Master’s Degree in Music Performance. And to think — at one point, we didn’t even know if she’d ever go to college!

Now, do I have the right to brag or what?

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “If you raise your children to feel that they can accomplish any goal or task they decide upon, you will have succeeded as a parent and you will have given your children the greatest of all blessings. ~ Brian Tracy

 

 

14 comments

  • Pingback: Not to brag, but… | The Hempstead Man

  • Wow! What talent! Brag, brag away! 😄

    Like

  • Thank for writing about your children, I love reading about them, you are so fortunate.

    Like

    • Thank you; you are so kind. And as much as you love reading about them, i love writing about them even more, but I have to try so hard to restrain myself because if I didn’t, they would be ALL I would ever write about! 🙂 I am so very proud of my children because they are indeed my pride and joy and I do consider them my best accomplishment in life. I bless every single day they were born and I thank God for having given me the opportunity to be their mother and I truly don’t know what I ever did to deserve them.

      Like

  • Phoenix Tears Healed

    yes you do 😀 it sounds wonderful; congratulations to your daughter and wishing her all the best for her future 🙂

    Like

  • Your daughter is amazing and it is a wonderful thing to realize that as parents that their accomplishments are rooted in your teachings. In my humble opinion, your kids reflect the love and support you gave them as they grew up. I’m sure Stephanie got the most confidence from the feedback she got at home. The cello. . . don’t get me started on the cello. . . . .it’s my favorite! your story hit home in more than one way. thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • We are so proud of Stephanie. Whenever I think of how much she has accomplished, the tears begin to flow, so I try not to think about it, because then I can’t stop crying, you know what I mean? She has come so far… Thank you so much for your kind words; I appreciate it so much.

      Liked by 1 person

  • You do deserve bragging right. You should be very proud, she made miraculous achievement thanks to your support and belief in her, she has also become to believing in herself. Congratulations for both of you &Best Wishes.

    Like

  • I am writing this while listening to your daughter playing.. Yes, I can see why you are extra proud of her achievement! What a talented young lady! All the best to Stephanie in her future! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

