A Worthwhile Purchase

Written for http://dailypost.wordpress.com/

I can’t even imagine inheriting $1,000,000 from an aunt that I didn’t even know existed, although just thinking about it is such a lovely way to spend a few minutes!

To tell you the truth, I don’t place much store in “possessions,” so to speak. This may have something to do with the fact that I come from a poor background. My six siblings and I lived in a low-income housing project in St. Paul, Minnesota, and my wardrobe consisted of hand-me-downs and cast-offs for most of my youth. We didn’t have a color television set, nor did we have a car. We took the city bus everywhere we went, which included our church located in downtown St. Paul.

I grew up learning to “make do,” but I also learned that the most valuable things in life are not possessions. Our parents taught us that the things which really counted in life, like love, friendships, and family didn’t come with a price tag, and that if you had these things in abundance, then you didn’t need the material possessions of the world to be happy.

I have followed their prescription for happiness throughout my life, and I have found it to be absolutely true. My husband and I are still in the very first house that we purchased thirty-five years ago. We could have “upgraded” to a better model, but instead, we chose to invest our hard-earned income on our three children, spending it on sports equipment, dance lessons, cello lessons, karate lessons, theater, orchestra, and whatever else our children needed to grow into the amazing adults they are now. We have only purchased one brand new automobile during our thirty-eight years of marriage – all the rest have been second-hand automobiles; we’ve only been on one cruise together as a couple, and that was for our 25th wedding anniversary; we didn’t go out all the time as a couple while raising our children; we didn’t go on fancy vacations; and we don’t have many other luxury items, either. As I said before, we invested our money in our children and their future. So, I’ve never really bought anything for myself. But I can’t imagine myself being any happier.

If I did inherit a million dollars, however, I know exactly what my first purchase would be. Without question. And for this one time only, I would be a little selfish because I’d only spend a fraction of the million dollars, so I know I could afford to be selfish with my purchase.

I would buy a brand new baby grand piano. If you read my post of May 29, 2014, http://blainecindy.com/2014/05/29/dreams-do-come-true/, you would know that I just began taking piano lessons in February this year. It has been a lifelong dream of mine to play the piano. And you would know that I do have a piano now, one which was given to me by my dear choir director, Therese. Now don’t get me wrong – I love my piano. It is a beautiful gift and I cherish it. But it would be wonderful to have a brand new baby grand piano in my home. I know I still have a long way to go in my lessons, but can you imagine how much better I would sound playing at a baby grand piano?

It’s not that a new baby grand piano would make me any happier than I am now, because I already am happy. But I think it would go a long way to making my piano playing sound better!

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “You may not be able to leave your children a great inheritance, but day by day, you may be weaving for them which they will wear for all eternity.”  ~ Theodore L. Cuyle

 

 

 
I'd love to hear what you have to say!

