A Proud Moment

A few posts ago, I mentioned that I have begun working on my autobiography, finally. This is a project that I’ve been meaning to get to for some time, but somehow something has always managed to get in the way of its completion. Don’t get me wrong. I have no desire to become famous because I have no illusions that this little autobiography of mine will bring me any fame whatsoever. After all, I have no claim to fame, there’s no scandal in my family (at least, not that I know of), and I am not a published author – at least, not yet – hope springs eternal!

But I do have a reason for writing the story of my life. Both of my parents are deceased, as are all of my grandparents along with many of my aunts and uncles. The sad fact of the matter is that there are no written records of their lives anywhere that I know of, and I wish that there were. All that we have are stories that have been handed down by word of mouth and many other stories have either been long-forgotten or untold, vanished with those who have passed on to their eternal reward.

After reflecting on the sadness of this reality, it occurred to me that I didn’t want this to happen to my legacy. I want to have something to pass on to my children and my grandchildren and to all those who come after them. I also realize that when I finish writing my story, my children may not even care to read it right away, but I know that they will in later years and they will be glad to possess it at that time, so I am forging ahead with it. I know it will be something they will treasure in the years to come, even though they may not appreciate it now. I wish my parents had done something like this for me.

And so, I’ve been considering where to begin with my book, and I’ve decided that I don’t want to begin with my birth. It just seems so cliche to begin my story with: “I was born on August 26 …” How boring, don’t you agree? So, I’ve been giving this a lot of thought, and I think I’ve come up with a great solution. See what you think about this.

All stories must have a great beginning and a great ending, right? Well, I’ve decided to begin my story with our youngest child’s college graduation, but not only that, I’m also going to end my story with our youngest child’s college graduation. Sounds intriguing, don’t you think?

Our daughter, Stephanie  Graduation from Minnesota State University Moorhead May 16, 2014

Our daughter, Stephanie
Graduation from Minnesota State University Moorhead
May 16, 2014

Our daughter Stephanie graduated from Minnesota State University on May 16, 2014 with her Bachelor’s Degree in Music Performance on the cello. She is the youngest of our three children and we are proud to say that all three them have received their bachelor’s degrees. Stephanie will then be attending the University of Wisconsin in Madison in the fall where she’ll be pursuing her Master’s in Music Performance on the cello. For the past two years she’s been performing as a professional cellist with the Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra while she attended MSU.  I may be biased (of course, I am her mother) but Stephanie is a very talented cellist. If you don’t believe me, here’s a short video of her playing:

The amazing thing about our youngest daughter graduating from college and then going on to pursue her master’s degree is that there was a time when she was in middle school that my husband and I were entertaining the idea that she may not ever go to college at all. She was struggling with school at the time, in more ways than one, and we were facing the fact that college was not for everyone, and that perhaps college was not in Stephanie’s future. But then a miracle occurred and Stephanie found the cello. The cello changed her whole life, and she became determined to make a future for herself with her cello. She is proof that if you have a goal, determination, faith in God and yourself, and if you work hard enough, that anything is possible.

As I sat with my husband in the auditorium a few weeks ago, watching our youngest daughter walk across the stage to collect her college diploma, it was one of the proudest moments in my entire life. I had done my job, and I felt as though I had done it well. To me, being a mother had always been THE most important job to me. I always felt as though God had entrusted me with the care of my children and that it was up to me and my husband to love them, to cherish them, to protect them, to take care of them, and to raise them to be the best people they could possibly be. And as I watched our little girl walk across the stage that day, I knew that we had accomplished our task. I knew our daughter had become the person she was supposed to be. I knew she was happy. And that was the best part of all. I couldn’t ask for anything more.

So what do you think so far?

By the way, this lovely young woman who plays the cello so beautifully – you won’t believe what she did with a minnow when she was only two! I guess you’ll have to read my book to find out!

 * * * * * * * * * *

QUOTE OF THE DAY:  “Keep your dreams alive. Understand to achieve anything requires faith and belief in yourself, vision, hard work, determination, and dedication. Remember all things are possible for those who believe.”  ~ Gail Devers

 

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

