I Walk With the Lord

woman walking painting

I walk with the Lord each day,

In the rays of His shining light.

I know He’ll always lead the way,

He is with me day and night.

* * * * * * * * * * 

In the rays of His shining light,

God grants me His loving grace.

He is with me day and night,

He will all my fears erase.

* * * * * * * * * * 

God grants me His loving grace,

His grace will always save my soul.

He will all my fears erase,

With the Lord I am made whole.

* * * * * * * * * * 

His grace will always save my soul,

God is loving, kind, and true.

With the Lord I am made whole,

With the Lord I am made new.

* * * * * * * * * * 

God is loving, kind, and true,

I know He’ll always lead the way,

With the Lord I am made new,

I walk with the Lord each day.

4 comments

  • this was beautiful, both the words and the style – what is it called, the style; how each stanza is composed, each directly succinct one with the other

    Like

    • Thank you for your kind words; I’m so happy you enjoyed it. This poem is written in the form of a pantoum. The pantoum consists of a series of quatrains rhyming ABAB in which the second and fourth lines of a quatrain recur as the first and third lines in the succeeding quatrain; each quatrain introduces a new second rhyme as BCBC, CDCD. The first line of the series recurs as the last line of the closing quatrain, and third line of the poem recurs as the second line of the closing quatrain, rhyming ZAZA.

      Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

