Do You Remember Halloween of 1991?

The year was 1991. Our children were so excited for Halloween, and all they wanted was to go out and do some trick-or-treating. At that time, Joe was 8, Sarah, 3, and our baby, Stephanie, only 1. Let me remind you that we live in Minnesota.

“Mom,” Joe asked, “When’s Dad coming home? It’s starting to get dark already!”

“He should be home at any minute.”

“Good, ‘cuz I wanna get out as soon as I can.”

The next thing we knew, my husband Mike came through the kitchen door way.

“Daddy, Daddy!” Sarah put her arms around my husband’s leg. “Can we go treating now? Please?”

“First we have to eat supper, honey, then we’ll go, okay?”

“Okay.”

It was difficult to get the kids to sit down and eat their supper that evening, but they did. Before we finished, the doorbell rang and some trick or treaters had begun to arrive.

“See, Mom! It’s time to go!” Joe said emphatically.

“Okay, let’s get ready.”

“Cindy,” said Mike, “It’s cold out there tonight. I think it’s cold enough to snow. You better dress them warmly, okay?”

“I know. Don’t worry. I’ve got covered.”

Joe was going to be the Tinman from the Wizard of Oz.  When I made his costume, I made it over-sized so he could wear plenty of clothes underneath. He looked like a very plump Tinman, but Joe was oblivious to that fact. He was just happy to be ready.

Then it was Sarah’s turn. I had also made her clown costume, and had made it over-sized for lots of layers. She was so happy because this was going to be her first time trick-or-treating. Her enthusiasm was contagious.

“What about Stephie?” Sarah asked.

“She’s too little.”

“Okay,” my husband said, “Is everyone ready?”

“C’mon, Sarah, it’s time to go!” Joe said.

Mike took Sarah by the hand and led her out the door.

“Have fun and stay warm!” I called after them. I noticed the air was quite chilly,and it had begun to snow very lightly.

There weren’t too many kids that came to our door that evening. It was getting really cold and the snow was coming down harder by the minute. Before long, you could barely see anything outside — it was like a blizzard. The snow was piling up fast.

After an hour my husband and kids came home. I will never forget little Sarah. The snow was almost to her waist. I watched them as they trudged through the snow. But they were smiling and seemed perfectly content to be outside. By the time they came back into our house, their clothes were covered with snow, which had begun to soak through to their skin.

“Oh, honey,” I said as I began to undress Sarah. “You must be so cold!”

“It’s okay, Mommy. ‘Cuz I went treating, and look at all the candy I got! One lady said I was the bestest clown ever! It was so much fun, Mommy! Can we do it again tomorrow?”

I smiled. Kids are flexible. They learn to make the best of any situation. That night I learned you must look beyond your troubles, and look for the silver lining — even through the snowstorm!


I'd love to hear what you have to say!

