A Return to What I Love

Hello dear readers,

The last couple weeks have passed by in a blur for me. As I told you in my last post, I’ve begun a new venture as a freelance writer. Actually, I’ve been doing this on and off for sometime now, but I’ve now been writing full-time, and I’m enjoying every minute of it. It’s great to be able to do what you love and actually get paid for it! Now I just have to find more time to work on the two books that I’ve been writing the past couple years. As time goes on, I’ll keep you updated on those, too. I figure that if I do, then I’ll have something to keep me focused on them. Actually, it’s not really that I’m not focused on them–it’s more of a matter of finding time to write for them now that I’m writing other things. But I know that I’ll find my pace sooner or later.

Today marks a special day on my calendar, and I’m so excited about it that I just have to tell my readers. There’s only one other thing that I love to do even more than writing, and that’s singing. I have been singing ever since I can remember. Singing has always come naturally to me, as naturally as breathing. It has always given me so much pleasure to use the gift of singing that God gave me in order to give pleasure to others. My favorite quotation has to do with my gift of singing and goes like this: “The talent you have is God’s gift to you. What you do with that talent is your gift to God.”

I was a member of our church choir for twenty-five years, and as a choir member, I was also one of the soloists. Wednesday evening became my favorite evening of the week because it meant that my husband and I could attend choir rehearsal together. Not only did it mean spending time with my husband, because he was also in the choir, but it also meant spending time with wonderful friends.

Then about five years ago I underwent two anterior cervical fusions on my neck for ruptured herniated discs in my spine. One of the risks of this surgery is the possibility of severing the recurrent laryngeal nerve. This, unfortunately, was one of the complications from my surgery, and because of it, my left vocal cord became paralyzed. Over a period of several months, my right vocal cord gradually moved over to meet my left vocal cord so that I could speak fairly normally. But alas, the singing voice I once had disappeared. I thought I would never be able to sing again.

Now, five years later, I am rejoicing because my singing voice is almost back to the way it was before the surgery. It’s not quite as before, but it’s good enough that I can join the choir again. And guess where I’m going tonight? Choir practice! Yes, that’s right. For the first time in five years, I’m returning to doing what I love, to being among the friends I adore, and to sharing that special time with my husband once again! I’m so happy, I could . . . SING!

And come Sunday morning, you will find me in the choir once again, singing my praises to God, and thanking Him for giving back to me His precious gift.

One comment

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

