The Reason I Was Born Into The World

I have often pondered the question of why I was born into the world, as I am sure many of my earthly brothers and sisters have. After all, I was born into a family of five other sisters and one brother, so why was I added?

As far as birth order is concerned, I am the middle child. But there were seven years between my older brother and I, and I have three younger sisters; so in a way, I am also the oldest child of the younger set of children. I therefore have the attributes of both a middle child and an oldest child.

My parents were poor and could ill-afford so many children, but being the good Catholics that they were, I imagine that any formal birth control was out of the question. Many years ago I came to terms with the fact that my mother was not excited by the discovery of her pregnancy with me. But again, being one of the faithful, she learned to accept what the Lord had given her, not to mention the three children who came after me.

I think I was born to make my mother proud. She always used to say to me: “Cindy, I think you can do anything that you set your mind to.”  She was always so happy when I would receive special awards from school, when I graduated with honors, and when I decided to go back to nursing school.

I think I was born into my family to act as a peacemaker. I was always the one who would try to make things better. For instance, if two sisters weren’t talking to each other, for whatever reason, I would be the one to step in and try to get them to make up so everyone would be happy again. And if there was an argument, I never took sides, no matter what. I just couldn’t do it. I never wanted any trouble to start up because of me, and I would do anything to avoid it. I would try to keep the peace at whatever cost.

I think I was born into my family to be a good big sister to my three younger sisters. I remember I always tried to teach them things that I knew how to do, like when my great-Aunt Emma taught me how to knit, I taught them how to knit. I also taught them how to play games, like Jacks and Seven-Up. As we grew older, I would take them to places like movies. I remember taking them to see The Sound of Music, and they still talk about it to this day. We made some lovely memories together that warm us now that we’re older, and it feels good to think that maybe I was a good big sister.

I think I was born into the world to help people. I was a nurse for twenty-five years and worked in the operating room. During that time I must have assisted on literally thousands or surgeries—surgeries that made people’s lives better, surgeries that cured people, surgeries that actually saved lives! I’m proud of that, and I thank God every day that I was able to do this wonderful work for all those years.

I think I was born into the world to meet my husband, fall in love, and raise a family. I believe that my husband is my soul mate, and if I had not been born, maybe he would be alone right now. Because I was born, there are three wonderful adults in the world who are our children, and the world is lucky to have them. I don’t think the world would be the same place without them. I’m so proud of them. And some day maybe they’ll have children who might grow up to find a cure for cancer or AIDS or do something else important for the entire world. And all because I was born. You never know.

But you know what? When it comes right down to it, does anyone really know for sure why s/he was born? Probably not. It’s only guesswork. Only God in His heaven knows for sure. But I am sure that I’m truly glad I’m here.

QUOTE FOR THE DAY:  “By virtue of being born to humanity, every human being has a right to the development and fulfillment of his potentialities as a human being.”  ~ Ashley Montagu ~

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

