My Best Accomplishment are My Children

As I’ve written before, I have three children: one son and two daughters, and I’m proud of each and every one of them. I consider them to be my best accomplishment

Our son, Joe

Our son, Joe

Joe, our oldest, has long since left our family nest, and is doing well for himself out in this big, wide world. But that doesn’t mean that as his mother I don’t still worry about him. I don’t think a mother ever stops worrying about her children, no matter how old they become. However, I am secure in the knowledge that he’s okay, as evidenced by the fact that he’s made quite a life for himself. I do know, however, that if we asked him to move home just to help us out, he would do so in a heartbeat, and that’s proof enough of his love for his family. He is one of the most kind, warmhearted and caring people that I know. And family is the most important thing in the world to him. I know that whomever he chooses as his wife will be the luckiest woman in the world and some day he will be an amazing father.

MY OLDEST DAUGHTER SARAH

MY OLDEST DAUGHTER SARAH

Our oldest daughter Sarah is married to a wonderful man, Axel. They are just starting out in life, but I know that they will have carve out a wonderful life together because their love for each other is strong and true. Sarah is one of the most beautiful people I have ever known, and I’m not talking about her outside beauty (although I’ve always thought she’s been beautiful). No, I’m talking about her qualities of compassion, kindness, loyalty, and goodness. Sarah is the kind of person who will sacrifice something she has for whatever you need. She is loving and kind and I know that someday she will be the best mother ever.

MY YOUNGEST DAUGHTER STEPHANIE

MY YOUNGEST DAUGHTER STEPHANIE

That leaves our youngest daughter, Stephanie. Stephanie is a cellist and has a bachelor’s degree in music performance. She is now working on her master’s degree in music performance. And let me tell you, this young woman has talent! And I’m not just exaggerating because I’m her mother. She’s always been the first cellist in every orchestra she’s ever played in. Stephanie is sensitive, thoughtful, and kind. She’s always thinking of the other person first and is always careful not to hurt anyone’s feelings.

Though all of my children mean the world to me, and I would never be able to choose among them, I’m going to dedicate this post to my darling daughters, because there’s always been a special bond between the three of us as a mother and her daughters.

I’d like to share with you the following poem which I wrote for my daughters, and this quote by Robert Penn Warren best explains how I went about writing it: “How do poems grow? They grow out of your life.” I hope that you enjoy it.

Stephanie and Sarah as little girls

“My Little Blossom”

A daughter is a gift from God—
There cannot be a finer thing,
Than watching while she’s growing up;
Her growth reminds me of the Spring.

She’s just like a little blossom,
A tiny bud in bloom is she.
It seems she grows a bit each day,
Just like a flowering apple tree.

She’s such a darling little girl;
Her personality is sweet.
She can’t help but be so charming,
And when she smiles, it’s quite a treat.

In her world, her dolls are babies,
And all of her stuffed toys are real.
She plays her games of make-believe,
While playing dress-up with such zeal.

Her hugs and kisses are so precious,
I melt when she says, “I love you.”
She drapes her arms around my neck,
And then I know her love is true.

I wish that my little blossom
Could remain forever with me.
But I know that soon she must grow up
To become her own apple tree.

QUOTE FOR THE DAY:  “A mother’s treasure is her daughter.”               ~ Catherine Pulsifer ~

3 comments

  • I\’m going to be back in NM Sept 27-Oct 9. Are you having any clsaess? I would be willing to pay for a private lesson. I have a canon rebel and also a basic Kodak point and shoot.Would like to learn before the balloonsJoanie

    Like

  • lizfruitberry

    Oh my goodness. Your blog is absolutely adorable. Keep at it you are a natural! How beautiful!

    Like

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

